Irwin And Day Impress For CN Racing At Snetterton

The CN Racing team may have been down to two riders at Snetterton on Sunday but both Glenn Irwin and Josh Day gave them plenty to cheer about with the duo finishing in the top ten in all three of their respective races.

Riding with the Hebden Bridge-based team for the second meeting in a row, Irwin from Carrickfergus in Northern Ireland, had to give second best to Motorpoint British Supersport Cup rival Luke Jones by just a tenth of a second in Saturday's 'Sprint' race but he made amends in Sunday's longer race with yet another superb ride to comfortably win the Supersport Cup battle. Not only was he first and second in the Supersport Cup competition to extend his lead, he was also sixth and ninth in the two main British Supersport Championship results, Sunday's sixth place in particular being a brilliant ride as he was in contention for the race win for much of the 15 laps aboard his Met Healthcare/Megastore 247-sponsored Yamaha R6 .

Metzeler National Superstock 1000cc Championship rider Day enjoyed his best weekend of the year and took a well deserved 10th place in his 14-lap race. Now almost fully recovered from his pre-season crash in Spain, the Cirencester rider was strong throughout qualifying and, after completing the opening lap in 12th, he steadily moved his way through the field to claim his first top ten finish of the season and six valuable points.

Glenn Irwin:  "It's definitely been a positive weekend. I had a bit of an off in qualifying so the team had a fair bit of work to do to re-frame the bike so hats off to them for getting the bike back out on track.  The first race was good but I wasn't too happy with my position but we've since found that the front tyre was hitting the radiator under heavy braking and making it hard to turn in so sixth and the Cup win in the second race wasn't so bad! There was a gap to the group ahead with a couple of laps to go so I settled for my position. To be honest I'm glad I did as there were some crazy moves going on up there!"

Josh Day:  "My start wasn't the best but I managed to stay out of trouble on the first few laps. I just stuck in there really and I was a little bit lucky with a couple of the others taking each other out but I just tried to stay consistent and stay smooth when the tyres went off. It's the first time I've been in the top ten all year and it's where I should be for the rest of the season."

Julia Taylor, Team Principal:  "A vast improvement by Josh and I really hope he can build on it. And young Mr Irwin speaks for himself; he's riding well, puts a smile on our faces and keeps bringing home the tins! We're really glad to have him back.  It's been a great weekend overall and with Josh riding how we know he can and some developments for the team in the pipeline, we'll head to Knockhill confident of some good results."

Dwayne McCracken, Crew Chief:  "Obviously Josh has picked his pace up and we've got things right for him. He's comfortable now and getting closer and closer to the top five, which is where he should be. I can't be happier, he rode really well and the team have once again done a great job. Glenn was impressive once again and it's only a matter of time before he challenges for the podium outright. We're all, as a team, really, really pleased."

Supersport Race 1 (10 laps)1 Jack Kennedy (Yamaha)2 Glen Richards (Triumph)3 Ben Wilson (Kawasaki)4 Luke Mossey (Triumph)5 Billy McConnell (Triumph)6 Sam Warren (Yamaha)9 Glenn Irwin (Met Healthcare/Megastore 247 CN Racing Yamaha)

Supersport Race 2 (15 laps)1 Jack Kennedy (Yamaha)2 Billy McConnell (Smiths Triumph Racing Team)3 Glen Richards (Smiths Triumph Racing Team)4 Sam Warren (Yamaha)5 Christian Iddon (Triumph)6 Glenn Irwin (Met Healthcare/Megastore 247 CN Racing Yamaha)

Championship Points (after four rounds)1 Kennedy 146.5pts2 Richards 1193 Warren 1074 Wilson 1035 McConnell 916 Iddon 76.58 Irwin 53

Cup points (after four rounds)1 Irwin 160pts2 Jones 127.53 East 94

Metzeler National Superstock 1000cc Championship race (14 laps)1 Jason O'Halloran (Honda)2 Danny Buchan (Kawasaki)3 Patrick Medcalf (Kawasaki)4 Steve Brogan (BMW)5 Keith Farmer (Kawasaki)6 Daniel Johnson (Kawasaki)10 Josh Day (CN Racing Honda)

Championship points (after 6 rounds)1 O'Halloran 92pts2 Buchan 853 Storrar 714 Farmer 705 Brogan 696 Cox 5319 Day 1121 Hunt 7

Related Motorsport Articles

82,840 articles