Varhaug leads the way in AutoGP Portimão, Free Practice 1

Pål Varhaug was quickest in the first Free Practice session of the Auto GP Portimão weekend. The Norwegian driver of Virtuosi UK, who yesterday focused on learning the track and saved his best rubber for today, made the most of a set of fresh soft tyres to post a 1’32”655, a time that he feels can still be improved: “When I did put the fresh tyres on, I immediately felt that there was much more grip than yesterday, and with a few more laps I’m sure that I would have improved my time a lot, because in many places I could have pushed more. I’m confident for the weekend, I really love the track”.Adrian Quaife-Hobbs was second, lapping on used tyres after using a set of new soft Kumhos yesterday. With a 1’32”972 he ended the session just 0.03 ahead of Marrakech Race 1 winner Sergio Campana. Sergey Sirotkin was fourth with a 1’33”589, and was happy to share his enthusiasm about the track: “It’s great, with many blind corners, uphills and downhills, it’s a kind of track I really like. The main straight is a bit bumpy, but apart from this I love it”.The young Russian of Euronova was followed by Victor Guerin and Facu Regalia, while Daniel de Jong was in P7 ahead of Sten Pentus. The Estonian driver of Zele Racing didn’t take part in yesterday’s test session and so he used this Practice to get acquainted with a track where he already raced in 2009. He closed the session 0.03 ahead of team-mate Juan Carlos Sistos, who kept showing an impressive pace at his Auto GP debut. Chris Van der Drift closed the top ten with the second Manor MP Motorsport entry.Friday 1st June 2012, Free Practice 11 – Pal Varhaug – Virtuosi – 1'32”6552 – Adrian Quaife-Hobbs – Super Nova – 1'32”9713 – Sergio Campana – MLR 71 – 1'33”0004 – Sergey Sirotkin – Euronova – 1'33”5895 – Victor Guerin – Super Nova – 1'33”6596 – Facu Regalia – Campos – 1'34”2917 – Daniel De Jong – Manor MP – 1'34”3898 – Sten Pentus – Zele – 1'34”3939 – Juan Carlos Sistos – Zele – 1'34”42510 – Chris Van der Drift – Manor MP – 1'34”92811 – Giancarlo Serenelli – Ombra – 1'34”78712 – Giuseppe Cipriani – Campos – 1'34”92813 – Antonio Spavone – Euronova – 1'35”06014 – Max Snegirev – Campos – 1'35”47515 – Francesco Dracone – Virtuosi – 1'35”97416 – Michele La Rosa – MLR 71 - 1'36”853

Related Motorsport Articles

84,743 articles