REIS Get Connected MSA Asphalt Rally Championship

Round 3: Jim Clark National Rally, 1-2 June

Defending champion Damian Cole moved to the top of the 2012 standings after taking a maximum points haul on the Jim Clark National Rally.

Less than half a minute behind Cole were Steve Simpson and Patrick Walsh in their Subaru Impreza WRC, a result that moves Walsh to the top of the co-drivers’ points table after three of nine rounds.

Erstwhile championship leader Melvyn Evans retired after dislocating his shoulder for a second time during the event. After the first incident, the Welshman was able to ‘fix’ it, but called it a day when the problem recurred.

Results (championship competitors emboldened)1 Euan Thorburn / Paul Beaton (Ford Focus WRC) 1h20m08.6s2 Damian Cole / Eurig Davies (Ford Focus WRC) 1h20m55.9s3 Steve Simpson / Patrick Walsh (Subaru Impreza WRC) 1h21m21.7s

Championship positions (provisional) after Round 31 Damian Cole – 67 points2 Steve Simpson – 593 Melvyn Evans – 504 Paul Bird – 395 John Indri – 34

Related Motorsport Articles

84,742 articles