AutoGP Prize Money, 175.000 euros awarded already

One of the few championships in the motorsport scenario to offer its drivers a significant prize money, Auto GP has already awarded 175.000 euros so far.The Series puts 35.000 euros up for grabs at each round and while winning is important in order to bag the money, that’s not enough: as the prize is awarded after the cumulate classification of the weekend (the first three drivers get 20.000, 10.000 and 5.000 euros respectively) consistency is also required and clinching pole position or the fastest lap of the race can really make a difference.Five rounds into the championship, seven drivers had their share of prize money: Adrian Quaife-Hobbs is the chip leader with an impressive 80.000 euros as the Briton of SuperNova managed to be among the prize winners in each single round.Behind him, three drivers are tied in second place with 25.000 euros each: Pål Varhaug got in the weekend top 3 in Monza and Budapest, while Sergey Sirotkin did the same in Valencia and Portimão. Chris Van der Drift, in the meantime, got his first 5.000 euros in Monza and then won the event in Marrakech thanks to a stunning drive in Race 2.Behind this trio lies Sergio Campana, with 10.000 euros: the Italian driver of MLR71 got third place in the Marrakech weekend classification (despite his Race 2 retirement) thanks to the exciting win he got in Race 1, while in Portugal he was third again thanks to consistency, as he grabbed ten points in both races.Victor Guerin and Daniel de Jong close the money winning group with 5.000 euros each, won respectively in Budapest and Valencia.Auto GP Prize Money Classification: 1. Quaife-Hobbs 80.000 €; 2. Varhaug, Sirotkin and Van der Drift 25.000 €; 5. Campana 10.000 €; 6. Guerin and de Jong 5.000 €.

Related Motorsport Articles

84,208 articles