Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS is in Belgium for the second consecutive year


Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS is in Belgium for the second consecutive year. On the Spa Francorchamps fast up and down hill track will take place the fourth round of the season. After Monza, Pau and Imola, the Renault singleseater series is thence approaching one of the most charming European tracks, where it will be the Frenchman Norman Nato the man to beat being the Championship leader after the Imola round where he managed a double.

Three wins for the RC Formula driver, who scored his first win on the Pau street-circuit where also the other French driver Paul-Loup Chatin showed some good driving skills. The Tech1 Racing missed podium only in one occasion proving to be the most  constant driver being second overall with just a 29 points gap from the leader. Behind him  Daniil Kvyat (Koiranen Motorsport), Monza undisputed protagonist with two wins in March, and fourth in Imola Race 1. It has to be said though that the Russian, who races for the Red Bull Junior Team, has seized Spa Eurocup F. Renault 2.0 win at the beginning of the month.

However on the Ardennes track other protagonists are awaited. First of all the French William Vermont (Arta Engineering), capable of a third place in Monza and of two honor steps in Imola. Among the youngest there is Esteban Ocon, 15 y/o, Kvyat team mate, that notwithstanding his age already showed impressive driving skills scoring a fourth in Imola.

Thumb up also for the Italian Simone Iaquinta, capable in Imola to fight for top positions proving to be ready for the maximum result. The Team Torino Motorsport driver is with the same points of the Brazilian Guilherme Silva (, while behind the Colombian Oscar Tunjo follows, him too with Tech1 Racing.

These are just some of the protagonists of the upcoming weekend which will lit up on Friday for the two thirty minutes free practice sessions at 9.40 and 13.25. In the afternoon green light for the single thirty minutes qualifying session at 17.25. On Saturday, at 17.20, Race 1 on the 25 minutes plus a lap distance. Same distance also for Race 2 scheduled on Sunday at 11.

The Championship after 6 rounds (top-10): 1. Norman Nato FRA (RC Formula) 123; 2. Paul-Loup Chatin FRA (Tech1 Racing) 94; 3. Daniil Kvyat RUS (Koiranen Motorsport) 71; 4. William Vermont FRA (Arta Engineering) 63; 5. Esteban Ocon FRA (Koiranen Motorsport) 32; 6. Matthieu Vaxiviere FRA (Tech1 Racing) 27; 7. Simone Iaquinta ITA (Team Torino Motorsport), Melville McKee GBR (, Guilherme Silva BRA ( 26; 10. Oscar Tunjo COL (Tech1 Racing) 22.

Related Motorsport Articles

83,511 articles