Nurburgring first for Formula Ford GB

UK championship to race in Germany for the first timeAntti Buri returns to protect his overall points lead

Formula Fords UK title protagonists will be back on the points-scoring trail next weekend (28/29 Jul) at the world famous Nrburgring circuit. Its the first time that the Dunlop MSA Formula Ford Championship of Great Britain has held a round in Germany and, with 12 races remaining this season, they could prove crucial to the title hopes of several men.

There is a big prize at stake - the champion driver will win an expenses-paid trip to the USA to take a free full-day test in a USF2000 single-seater as well as a further day at the wheel of a Star Mazda car as part of the Road To Indy programme. Organisers have confirmed that the tests will take place on the legendary Indianapolis circuit on 10 and 11 October.Finlands Antti Buri leads the championship currently having racked up eight wins from the opening 12 races in his JTR EcoBoost Mygale. But while Buri skipped this months EuroCup events at Spa and Zandvoort his rivals - including Jamuns racing-winning trio Eric Lichtenstein, Jake Cook and Luke Williams - were busy honing their skills.Nineteen-year-old Yorkshireman Cook claimed his second race win of the season at Zandvoort last time out and is currently Buris closest points rival.

Jamuns strength at the Nrburgring will be boosted by the addition of Cullen Motorsport driver Ryan Cullen, with Buris title bid backed up by his JTR team-mates Cavan Corcoran and Julio Moreno.

With Duratec class leader Fabian Welter absent (the Mexican will return at Snetterton in early August), class honours in Germany will be disputed by Fluid Motorsport Van Diemen drivers Alex Drabble and Matt Rao and a four-car Enigma Motorsport Mygale squad comprising Australian Olly Rae, Norways Falco Wauer, and Brits George Blundell and Fred Martin-Dye.

The Ring races are Formula Ford EuroCup rounds also, and Fluid Motorsport Denmark has entered Duratec Van Diemens for Lasse Sorensen and Nicolai Sylvest, with Dutch team Provily fielding cars for Michel Florie and Zandvoort EuroCup victor Bas Schouten.Provisional overall championship standings1  Antti Buri (FIN/JTR)  350 points2 Jake Cook (GBR/Jamun)  2333 Julio Moreno (ECU/JTR)  2084 Cavan Corcoran (GBR/JTR)  2045 Luke Williams (GBR/Jamun)  199 etc

Duratec class1 Fabian Welter (MEX/RVR)  3452 Matt Rao (GBR/Fluid)  2323 George Blundell (GBR/Enigma)  2264 Olly Rae (AUS/Enigma)  2185 Alex Drabble (GBR/Fluid)  153 etc

Nrburgring timetableFriday 27 July: 1200-1300 & 1700-1800 testingSaturday 28 July: 1045 qualifying; 1535 race 1Sunday 29 July: 1040 race 2; 1435 race 3

TV schedule 4 August 1615 Motors TV & 25 August 0700 Channel 4

Related Motorsport Articles

84,747 articles