Andrew Jordan set for World Rallycross debut

Andrew Jordan will compete in the British round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship when he races a state-of-the-art Ford Fiesta rallycross car from the Olsbergs MSE team at Lydden Hill (24/25 May).Andrew, who first made his name in rallycross, won the 2007 British Rallycross Supercar title and has always maintained a strong interest in this branch of the sport. He recently joined the OMSE team as a test driver and driver coach, and was keen to compete in the British round of the high-profile FIA World Rallycross Championship.While Andrew’s main focus for 2014 will be defending his BTCC title with Pirtek Racing, the chance to return to rallycross and compete at World level was too good to miss. Some of the credit for his outstanding car control, particularly in slippery conditions, clearly goes to his rallycross experience.He tested for the team in Sweden last June and has now joined two-time World Rally Champion Marcus Gronholm as a test driver and driver coach for the team’s campaign in the World Rallycross Championship, the Global Rallycross Championship and the Rallycross Supercar Scandinavia Championship.“I only wanted to do this with a team where I felt there was a good fit,” said Andrew. “I’ve built a relationship with Andreas Eriksson, the team boss, over the last year. Obviously at Lydden I want to be as competitive as possible but I also want to try and help the team become World Champions,” said Andrew. “Rallycross is growing and evolving quickly so it is important that the teams and drivers develop. With my circuit racing experience, I hope I can help the team and its drivers.”As a Ford technical partner, OMSE has been instrumental in developing the Ford Fiesta platform for international competition. Together, Ford and OMSE have earned 19 X Games medals. The team has also won every rallycross championship title in the United States since the sport debuted there in 2010. Notable drivers who have competed with OMSE in the past five years include Toomas Heikkinen, Marcus Gronholm, Patrik Sandell, Kenny Brack and Tanner Foust.