WWRS R.A.C. Rally Championship award winners announced

The special award winners for the fifth round of the West Wales Rally Spares R.A.C. Rally Championship have been announced following the DMACK Carlisle Stages (21 June).Stephen Higgins and Don Bramfoot were unfortunate enough to post the first retirement of the rally when stub axle failure struck their Saab 96 early on the opening stage. The last retirement was the Mini Cooper S of Ray Cunningham and Andrew Bushe, which broke a driveshaft on the penultimate stage of the rally. Both crews will receive a £100 voucher from West Wales Rally Spares, as will Ford Escort crew Steve Magson and Jim Goodman after their number came out of the hat in the draw for a third voucher.Meanwhile, Ford Escort Mk1 crew David Kirby and Chris Nixon will receive a cheque for £240 from Holton Homes after their number came out in the draw for a refund of 50% of the event entry fee.The run-away success of the Kumho Clubmans Challenge continued for cars using no more than six tyres during the event. James Potter and Bob Duck (Ford Escort Mk2) were the highest-placed overall finishers from the Challenge contenders, while Stuart and Linda Cariss (Ford Escort Mk1) won a pair of Kumho tyres in the draw for contenders in the Challenge.The ‘Spirit of the Rally’ product award from Fuchs Lubricants went to Hillman Avenger crew Barry Jordan and James Gratton-Smith for their overall enthusiasm and commitment to the 1600cc crews. Simon and Alister Crook won the Best Improvement on Seeding, which is a set of axle brake pads from Mintex, after another strong performance to win Category O. Finally, Tim Pearcey won the ‘Hard Charger’ award of a 20-litre jerry can from Green Valley Industrial Supplies. His pace in his Ford Escort Mk2 was outstanding as he finished fourth overall on only his second rally of the year