Season highlight at Shelsley Walsh Hillclimb

Only four points separate the top two drivers in the country as the British Hill Climb Championship's 'Blue Riband' event returns to Shelsley Walsh in Worcestershire this weekend (16/17th August), with all top ten ranking national drivers in action.

Entitled 'Championship Challenge' this meeting is generally regarded as the premier event of the British Hill Climb season and a capacity entry has been received in all classes as championship positions begin to take shape, with no fewer that 24 entries in the 1100cc racing car class alone.

With 34 British rounds throughout the year and only 28 scores to count, Ludlow driver and reigning champion Scott Moran driving his Gould GR61X currently leads the standings with 168 points (after amended scores), followed very closely by former champion Trevor Willis of Worcester, with 164 points in his OMS 28 racing car.

Fellow Midlands driver Will Hall of Halesowen is having his best season to date and lies in third place with his Force WH racing car having a score of 143, with young drivers Alex Summers and Jos Goodyear filling the other top five slots respectively.

The weekend also host rounds of the very closely fought Midland Hill Climb Championship with Mike Turpin of Hereford currently leading by only two points in his supercharged Vauxhall VX220, from Rodney Eyles in a Pilbeam MP53 and then Robert Lancaster-Gaye in his Porsche 996 GT3.

The modified classes should produce close tussles between a diverse range of machines including Morgan, Subaru, Porsche, Ford Cosworth, Audi Quattro and the Vauxhall VX220s of Eynon Price and Mike Turpin.

An entry of over 15 historic cars has been received from members of the 500 Owners' Association, plus ERA cars and nearly 25 examples of the Lotus marque competing in the Paul Matty Sports Cars Championship.

Other historic names competing in the pre-1972 and pre-1985 classes include McLaren, Ferrari, Chevron, March, Brabham and Lagonda.

The action starts at 9am each day with practice and qualifying on Saturday and timed competition runs in programme order on Sunday.