MSA English Rally Championship

Round 5: Eventsigns Woodpecker Stages

Matthew Robinson claimed the 2014 MSA English Rally Championship title with Class E5 victory on the Eventsigns Woodpecker Stages, while his navigator Sam Collis is in a strong position to secure the co-drivers’ title.

Mat Smith and Giles Dykes once again came out on top in the hotly contested 1400cc category after their main rivals hit problems. Nick Carr and Joe Sturdy won the E1 class for standard production cars by just eight seconds.

Meanwhile Barry Jordan and James Gratton-Smith took maximum points in class E3 in their Hillman Avenger, with Sacha Kakad and Andrew Price winning class E4 aboard their Group N Fiesta ST.

Results – class winnersE5 Matthew Robinson / Sam Collis (Ford Escort Mk2) 44m41sE4 Sacha Kakad / Andrew Price (Ford Fiesta ST) 51m01sE3 Barry Jordan / James Gratton-Smith (Hillman Avenger) 49m48s E2 Mat Smith / Giles Dykes (Ford Ka) 47m23s E1 Nick Carr / Joe Sturdy (VW Lupo) 53m28s

Provisional championship standings1 Matthew Robinson – 124 points (Champion) 2 Neil Andrew – 973 Rory Jones – 924 Marcel Freling – 905 Sacha Kakad – 87= James West – 87= Carl Davies – 87