GT Open: Hamilton, Tutumlu and SRT Corvette take their revenge

as Montermini-Schirò (Villorba Ferrari) retake points leadership

Perfect day at home for the ‘Belgian’ Corvette repaired after crash yesterday Mavlanov-Zampieri (SMP Ferrari) 2nd ahead of the Villorba pair, who top rankings again after Pastorelli-Ramos are stopped by gearbox failure Ferrari, Audi and Porsche on GTS podium, with AF Corse winning again, this time with Cameron-Griffin

Maleev (SMP Racing) best Gentleman


Belgian squad Selleslaghs Racing team took at home its third win of the season, as Archie Hamilton and Isaac Tutumlu took a superb lights-to-flag win in Race 2 at Spa-Francorchamps that erased yesterday’s disappointment when a power steering problem caused Tutumlu’s accident. It was a hard night of work for SRT, but the car could be repaired on time, in an effort where fair-play had a great role. “I want to thank you our colleagues of V8 Racing, as they lent us some spare parts we didn’t have. Without that, the car could not be on the track today”, explained Patrick Selleslaghs. For Hamilton, it is his maiden win overall in the GT Open, while Tutumlu sign his second success with the Corvette.

Roman Mavlanov-Daniel Zampieri took second for SMP Racing while the other Ferrari of Villorba Corse was third. That allowed Andrea Montermini-Niccolò Schirò to retake the lead of the championship, one point ahead of Pastorelli-Ramos, winners yesterday, but whose Corvette stopped with a broken gearbox today, after only a few laps.

AF Corse won again in GTS, with Duncan Cameron-Matt Griffin, on a podium that saw three different brands represented as the Ferrari was joined by the Novadriver Audi of César Campaniço-Aditya Patel and the Autorlando Porsche of Matteo Beretta-Joel Camathias.

THE RACE - Poleman Tutumlu keeps the advantage on Pastorelli at the start but there is big fight behind and at the en of les Combes a contact between Mavlanov and Pastorelli prvokes big confusion, with Beretta spinning and Schirò and Costantini having to go off-track.

With the support of

When things stabilize, it’s Tutumlu leading ahead of Mavlanov, Pastorelli, Aicart, Persiani, Rugolo and Patel. Two cars did not start: the V8 Corvette of Sijthoff (oil pump) and the AF Ferrari of Lathouras, which will kick off two laps later. On lap 4, Pastorelli stops on the straight with a broken gearbox and on lap 6 a strong contact between Costantini and Roda at the chicane, with both cars stuck on the track (Roda’s one was even obstructing the pit lane entrance) which prompts the safety-car out.

The restart is in lap 9, with Tutumlu keeping the lead ahead of the SMP Ferraris of Mavlanov and Aicart, Rugolo and Schirò, who has passed Persiani. Patel is 7th in big duel with Beretta. Beretta, Mavlanov and Schirò are the first to stop for driver change. After the pit stop, Hamilton leads with 9 seconds over Zampieri, then Maleev, Montermini, Campaniço, Zlobin, Griffin, Sdanewitsch and Camathias. Zampieri closes on Hamilton but the duel won’t happen as the Italian has to spare his tires. Montermini takes third ahead of Griffin, Campaniço and Camathias, who compose the GTS podium, while Maleev is penalized with 30 seconds for passing the track limits but salvages victory in the Gentlemen’s Trophy.


Overall: 1. Montermini-Schirò, 158; 2. Pastorelli-Ramos, 157; 3. Zampieri-Mavlanov, 147; 4. Soulet, 125; 5. Tutumlu, 102; etc.

Drivers SuperGT: 1. Montermini-Schirò, 77; 2. Pastorelli-Ramos, 76; 3. Zampieri-Mavlanov, 74; 4. Soulet, 60; 5. Tutumlu, 47; etc.

GTS: 1. Roda, 58; 2. Aicart, 49; 3. Camathias-Beretta, Ruberti, 45; 5. Campaniço-Patel, 38; etc

Teams SuperGT: 1. V8 Racing, 111; 2. Villorba Corse, 77; 3. SMP Racing, 74; 4. SRT, 63; 5. TF Sport, 18; etc

Teams GTS: 1. AF Corse, 147; 2. Ombra Racing, 53; 3. SMP Racing, 49; 4. Autorlando Sport, 45 ; 5. Novadriver, 38; etc

Contructors Super GT: 1. Chevrolet, 161 ; 2. Ferrari, 151 ; 3. Aston Martin, 18 ; 4.Porsche, 7.

Constructors GTS: 1. Ferrari, 191 ; 2. Porsche, 45; 3. Audi, 38 ; 4. Nissan, 13; 5. Mercedes, Chevrolet, 12.

Gentlemen’s Trophy: 1. Sdanewitsch, 98; 2. Maleev, 78; 3.Cordoni, 47 ; 4. Jacoma-Pan, 23; 5. Flohr, 18; etc