Two Carrera Cup GB titles settled at Silverstone

Michael Meadows closes in on overall leader Josh WebsterJustin Sherwood clinches Pro-Am1 titleRedline Racing crowned as team championsThe absorbing battle for the overall title in the 2014 Porsche Carrera Cup GB is set for a dramatic conclusion at Brands Hatch in mid-October after Michael Meadows took a double victory in rounds 16 and 17 at Silverstone (27/28 September). Championship leader and Carrera Cup Scholarship racer Josh Webster now has a slender four-point lead with two races left to run.Meadows (Samsung UHD TV Racing) completed a perfect weekend at Silverstone as the latest type-991 911 GT3 Cups raced in front of 32,000 fans and a massive live TV audience. Paul Rees (In2 Racing) and Webster (Redline Racing) shared the podium in Sunday’s round 17.Three drivers made their Carrera Cup debuts at Silverstone as former Renault Clio champion Josh Files raced the guest car for Team Parker Racing, single-seater racer James Fletcher joined Welch Motorsport and experienced sports car racer Mike Donovan (In2 Racing) had his first races on the Silverstone National circuit since 1986. All three delivered excellent performances.While Jordan Witt (Redline Racing) scored a Pro-Am1 double, Justin Sherwood (Team Parker Racing) clinched the Pro-Am1 title with another strong performance.Kelvin Fletcher (Redline Racing) earned the ‘driver of the weekend’ award for two excellent drives and two Pro-Am2 victories as he returned to the championship for the first time since Thruxton in May. Fletcher also won a set of tyres as part of Michelin’s long-standing support of the championship. Before the start of testing at each race weekend, a name is drawn from a hat to receive the tyres, with a value of more than £1200.In the teams’ championship, Redline Racing took the first title of the Carrera Cup GB season when it won the prestigious award for the sixth time in the 12-year history of the championship. Redline Racing was also named as ‘team of the weekend’.Provisional Carrera Cup GB championship points after round 17:Overall: 1 Josh Webster 316; 2 Michael Meadows 312; 3 Paul Rees 231.Pro-Am1: 1 Justin Sherwood 116; 2 Rob Smith 71; 3 Jordan Witt 66.Pro-Am2: 1 Peter Kyle-Henney 129; 2 Steven Liquorish 126; 3 Kelvin Fletcher 54.Teams: 1 Redline Racing 526; 2 In2 Racing 372; 3 Samsung UHD TV Racing 312.Final rounds: 11/12 October, Brands Hatch.