Fight for Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS runner up continues at Jerez

With Nyck de Vries crowned new Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS champion in Mugello at the beginning of September, the 2014 Season will have its epilogue this weekend in Jerez in Spain where the Series will also be racing for the first time.

Seventh and last venue thus for the Fast Lane Promotion Series which is still looking for its vice-champion. The duel will be between the Monaco driver Charles Leclerc (Fortec Motorsports) and the very young Russian Matevos Isaakyan (JD Motorsport). They both scored two wins and are respectively second and third overall divided by a 19 points gap.

For sure de Vries will not be a spectator. With eight wins under his belt including the double in Mugello, the Dutchman of Koiranen GP - who recently also clinched the Eurocup F.Renault 2.0 title - will once more fight for top positions. Same will be doing his team-mate George Russell, fourth overall even after having missed the Monza venue. No chances for him though for the Junior Title which will still be a close fight between Leclerc and Isaakyan.

Among the novelties there will be the debut of team Strakka Racing which will line up the English Jake Hughes. He will be racing as a wild card as well as the Welsh Matt Parry, him too racing with Fortec, and the Prema duo made up by the Brazilian Bruno Bonifacio and the Norwegian Dennis Olsen. Still racing for Prema, but collecting points, there will be the Polish Alex Bosak.

Watch out for Pietro Fittipaldi (grandson of the legendary Emerson), who will race for Koiranen GP after having managed podium for the first time in Mugello this season. Top positions goal for the Italian Dario Capitanio (BVM Racing).

The schedule will be run a two days format. Free practices will be held on Saturday morning and qualify in the afternoon starting from 15.05. Sunday at 10.50 Race 1 green light while Race 2 will start at 15.00. Both races will last 25’ plus a lap and will be Live Streamed on

The Championship (top 10): 1. Nyck de Vries NDL (Koiranen GP) 250; 2. Charler Leclerc MC (Fortec Motorsports) 166; 3. Matevos Isaakyan RUS (JD Motorsport) 147; 4. George Russell GBR (Koiranen GP) 101; 5. Simon Gachet FRA (Arta Engineering) 68; 6. Alessio Rovera ITA (Cram Motorsport) 65; 7. Dario Capitanio ITA (BVM Racing) 54; 8. Luke Chudleigh CDN (Tech 1 Racing) 36; 9. Pietro Fittipaldi BRA (MGR Motorsport) 35; 10. Akash Nandy MAL (Tech 1 Racing) 33

Related Motorsport Articles

82,682 articles