Maciej Janowski handed Borygo Torun SGP of Poland call-up‏


Polish star Maciej Janowski gets a sneak preview of FIM Speedway World Championship life after being called up for the season-closing Borygo Torun FIM Speedway Grand Prix of Poland on October 11.

The Wroclaw-born rider dons the No.20 race jacket as a replacement for his suspended Poole Pirates team mate Darcy Ward. Meanwhile, Danish rider Michael Jepsen Jensen lines up at No.19 as cover for the injured Niels-Kristian Iversen.

Janowski is guaranteed a place in the 2015 SGP series after finishing fourth in the GP Challenge at Lonigo on September 20.

While only the top three usually progress, Challenge winner Matej Zagar has now secured his place in this year’s World Championship top eight, meaning the qualification berth he earned passes to Janowski.

The 2011 FIM Speedway Under-21 world champion has long been regarded as one of Poland’s brightest young prospects. He has already shone on the senior stage, winning 2013 Monster Energy FIM Speedway World Cup gold with his country in Prague.

Janowski reached the Torun SGP of Poland semi-finals as a wild card in 2012, scoring eight points, and will be keen to lay down a marker as he prepares to take on the SGP elite full-time next year.

Tickets for the SGP season finale are still available online here or telephone +48 56 651 80 66.

FULL BORYGO TORUN SGP OF POLAND LINE-UP (round 12 of 12): 1 Tai Woffinden, 33 Jaroslaw Hampel, 19 Michael Jepsen Jensen, 45 Greg Hancock, 5 Nicki Pedersen, 55 Matej Zagar, 20 Maciej Janowski, 507 Krzysztof Kasprzak, 66 Fredrik Lindgren, 23 Chris Holder, 100 Andreas Jonsson, 91 Kenneth Bjerre, 84 Martin Smolinski, 37 Chris Harris, 75 Troy Batchelor, 16 (wild card) Adrian Miedzinski, 17 (reserve) Pawel Przedpelski, 18 (reserve) Oskar Fajfer.

NOTE: Michael Jepsen Jensen (No.19) replaces the injured Niels-Kristian Iversen. Maciej Janowski (No.20) replaces the suspended Darcy Ward.

Related Motorsport Articles

82,693 articles