No rivals for Bruno Bonifacio in Jerez Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS race 1

No rivals for Bruno Bonifacio in Jerez at the final venue of the 2014 Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS season . The Brazilian racing for Prema Powerteam took Saturday’s poleand also Race 1 ahead of the 2014 Champion Nyck de Vries. Full score for him though as Bonifacio joined the event as wild card. These points also granted Koiranen GP the Team’s Title with a race to go.

Third place for Tech1 Racing's Egor Orudzhev, also not collecting points. Two more wild cards in P4 Matt Parry (Fortec Motorsports), and P5 Dennis Olsen (Prema Powerteam).

A notable debut in the Fast Lane Promotion Series from Briti Jake Hughes who managed tenth with Strakka Racing.

THE REPORT. No hassle at the start for Bonifacio who easily defends his lead. De Vries follows while Orudzhev recovers from P5 to P3. Right behind the leading trio Olsen and Leclerc. Isaakyan struggles in P8 after having started form the fifth spot. A ten seconds jump start penalty is committed to George Russel. All attention in on top positions with de Vries on Bonifacio’s tail but yet unable to make his move.

“So far It has been a perfect weekend – claimed Bonifacio – Pole, P1 and fastest lap, I simply couldn’t ask for more. Towards the end of the race a minor mistake helped de Vries in closing his gap but luckily I kept the position”.

Race 1 (top 5): 1. Bruno Bonifacio BRA (Prema Powerteam) 16 laps 27’26.899; 2. Nyck de Vries NED (Koiranen GP) at 0.534; 3. Egor Orudzhev RUS (Tech1 Racing) at 2.524; 4. Matt Parry GBR (Fortec Motorsports) at 6.380; 5. Dennis Olsen NOR (Prema Powerteam) at 6.521.

The Championship (top 5): 1. Nyck de Vries 275; 2. Charles Leclerc 184; 3. Matevos Isaakyan 162; 4. George Russell 111; 5. Simon Gachet 72.

Related Motorsport Articles

82,756 articles