Citroen clinches WTCC Manufacturers� title in style

“C’est fait!”, it’s done.

That’s what the Citroën team could say, with emotion and relief, at the end of a Race 1 in Shanghai that they dominated from beginning to the end.The final 1-2-3-4 ensured in the most brilliant way the Manufacturers’ title for the French car maker. “We are happy for the great job the entire team did and proud to reach the title here in China,” said Team Principal Yves Matton.

The win was for José María López who kept the advantage of the pole ahead team-mates Ma Qing Hua and Yvan Muller, while Sébastien Loeb had to battle against the Honda cars to conquer the fourth spot. The first non-Citroën at the end was Norbert Michelisz, who defended strenuously his 5th position from Tarquini and Monteiro. Time to celebrate also for Franz Engstler, who won the TC2T race and secured the Yokohama Trophy title and his team-mate Filipe De Souza took the honours in the Asia Trophy.

Key momentsGrid – Thompson pits after formation lap with a problem on the front left wheelStart – Trouble free start, with López taking the lead ahead of Ma, Muller, Michelisz, Tarquini, Monteiro and LoebLap 2 – Loeb attacks Monteiro and after a short fight takes 6th; Coronel takes 9th from ValenteLap 3 – Chilton, who was 8th, loses rear right wheel and retiresLap 4 – Loeb passes also Tarquini for 5th, on the outside!Lap 5 – Michelisz is defending fiercely his 4th place from the attacks of Loeb, while Bennani passes Borković for 10thLap 6 – Loeb passes Michelisz for fourth; Lok retires with a broken suspensionLap 7 – Huff takes 12th from MorbidelliLap 13 – Huff and Morbidelli pass Borković for 11th and 12thLap 14 – Huff stops with a puncture on the front left; Citroën cars finish 1-2-3-4, while Engstler beats Filippi and De Souza in TC2T

Related Motorsport Articles

82,846 articles