ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship

Round 9: Galloway Hills Rally, 26 October

Jock Armstrong brought the season to a close with his seventh victory on the Galloway Hills Rally, securing third overall in the championship behind David Bogie and Euan Thorburn.

Armstrong, with Paul Swinscoe on the notes, was trailing the previous weekend's Cambrian Rally winners Dave Weston Jnr and navigator Kirsty Riddick by nine seconds going into the final Dalbeattie stage. However, Weston Jnr spun and got stuck in a ditch, while Armstrong was in top form to snatch the win.

In second place was Bogie – with Kevin Rae alongside – who used the event to fine-tune his Ford Fiesta R5 in preparation for next month's Wales Rally GB. The Dumfries driver also took second overall in the championship behind Thorburn, who had won his first Scottish title on the previous Colin McRae Stages.

Results1 Jock Armstrong / Paula Swinscoe (Subaru Impreza) 46min43secs2 David Bogie / Kevin Rae (Ford Fiesta R5) 47m21s3 Desi Henry / Damien Duffin (Mitsubishi EVO 9) 48m10s

Related Motorsport Articles

82,758 articles