ADAC Formula 4 to use Abarth power in 2015

Abarth to supply engines for the new ADAC Formula 4 from 2015 onwards The new ADAC Formula 4 racing cars will utilise Abarth engines next year for the debut season of the junior series. After intensive testing, the ADAC has selected Abarth to be the engine partner for the ADAC Formula 4 junior series, the successor to Formel ADAC. "We are very pleased to welcome Abarth to the ADAC family. With Abarth, the ADAC has acquired a prestigious car manufacturer as partner for the new ADAC Formula 4 in 2015. Abarth delighted teams and officials in the Italian Formula 4 championship earlier this year with their engine units," said ADAC Sport President Hermann Tomczyk, "We have put together a solid package for the debut season of the new ADAC Formula 4 with Abarth as engine supplier, plus chassis manufacturer Tatuus, premium tyre manufacturer Pirelli and Motec, our long-standing partner who supply rims. I can't wait to see our new ADAC Formula 4 racing car drive on the track for the first time, using Abarth power," added Lars Soutschka, ADAC Director Motor Sport and Classic. "We are extremely enthusiastic that Abarth's racing spirit continues to evolve into prestigious activities like those of ADAC Formula 4, certified by FIA," declared Abarth EMEA Manager Marco Magnanini. "In fact, if on the one hand Abarth makes technologically advanced and high performance products for its customers around the world, on the other it continues to keep its distinctive DNA alive through competitive racing." The Abarth turbo engines will be fitted in chassis supplied to the ADAC Formula 4 by Italian manufacturer, Tatuus. These chassis meet the high safety standards laid down by the FIA. The first ADAC Formula 4 season gets under way on the weekend of April 17th-19th, 2015, in the etropolis Motorsport Arena Oschersleben. The race schedule features eight events in all, including a couple of fixtures in countries close to Germany. For many years, the ADAC single-seater development programme for juniors has been a stepping stone for future motor racing stars. In the past, Formula 1 drivers such as four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel, Nico Hülkenberg, Nico Rosberg and Ralf Schumacher and DTM stars like Martin Tomczyk, Pascal Wehrlein and Timo Glock all started their successful careers in ADAC single-seater junior series.

Related Motorsport Articles

82,548 articles