Pascal Wehrlein quickest for Mercedes On Day 2 in Abu Dhabi

Date Wednesday 26 November

Track Yas Marina Circuit

Driver Pascal Wehrlein

No of Laps 96 laps

Best Lap Time 1:42.624

Kilometres Covered 533 km

Track Length 5.554 km

Weather Warm and dry

MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS concluded the final test of 2014 at the Yas Marina Circuit today, with Pascal Wehrlein taking the wheel of the F1 W05 Hybrid for the second of two days' running this week. Pascal's best time of 1:42.624 from 96 laps put him top of the time sheets.

Today's programme focussed on aero testing, 2015 Pirelli tyres, system checks and set-up work

The team was also able to test some new parts for the 2015 regulations

Pirelli's new supersoft, soft and medium compound dry tyres were all tested during the day's runningPascal emerged for his first run at 09:00 local time, with his car running problem free all dayHe did a great job on his first day of track activity in the W05 Hybrid, making a good transition from his simulator workMercedes-Benz Power Units today completed a total of 1,488 km between all teams

Pascal Wehrlein I really enjoyed today; it was a great day. The first time in this car and the second time in a Formula One car; I had a lot of fun. We completed our planned test programme and there were no problems. The change between a DTM car and a Formula One car is a big difference, so this was the biggest challenge today, particularly with the brakes. It's a fantastic racing car; it's good to see myself quickest but at the end of the day it doesn't matter as everyone has a different test programme. The important thing was that I was able to improve a lot during the day and complete the full test programme. I've been in the simulator since the beginning of the year and I enjoy the work there, so I hope to continue that in 2015 to be able to learn even more. This test will certainly help with the feedback there too.

1 Pascal Wehrlein Mercedes 1m42.624s 96 laps

2 Raffaele Marciello Ferrari 1m43.208s 91 laps

3 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso 1m43.763s 78 laps

4 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1m44.551s 112 laps

5 Will Stevens Caterham 1m44.888s 76 laps

6 Spike Goddard Force India 1m44.944s 89 laps

7 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1m45.151s 89 laps

8 Felipe Nasr Williams 1m45.937s 83 laps

9 Alex Lynn Lotus 1m46.168s 52 laps

10 Esteban Ocon Lotus 1m47.013s 34 laps

11 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren - 2 laps


Related Motorsport Articles

82,683 articles