British Speedway National League statement

BRITISH Speedway’s National League will have 10 clubs going into the 2015 season.

New applicants Birmingham, Eastbourne and Rye House were welcomed by existing members at the league’s AGM held in Rugby on Tuesday.

And reigning champions Cradley Heath have been approved to defend their title after switching home meetings to Perry Barr, sharing with Birmingham.The 2015 champions will be decided over the course of 18 meetings in the old traditional format of the team finishing top of the league – and the top four will then enter a stand-alone Gold Cup competition at the end of the season.The all-important points limit for team building purposes has been set at 36 points and a minimum limit has also been introduced at 30.The race format remains unchanged from 2014 and the tactical ride rule is now the same as Premier League regulations – one per meeting and not available in aggregate ties.There will also be four teams competing in the National Trophy next season – Eastbourne, Kent, Rye House and Mildenhall.National League co-ordinator Peter Morrish said: “It’s going to be a very competitive season and we are delighted to welcome the new clubs.“In the case of Birmingham and Eastbourne it’s given them somewhere to go – without the National League I don’t know what they would have done.“The 36-point limit was voted through. Everyone has their own interests, of course, but it was voted through. Nobody suggested 40, some said 38 but 36 it was.“The major events were a success last year and I’m sure they will be again.”NATIONAL LEAGUE 2015:Birmingham, Buxton, Cradley Heath, Coventry, Eastbourne, Kent, King’s Lynn, Mildenhall, Rye House, Stoke.NATIONAL LEAGUE KNOCKOUT CUP DRAW:Round 1 (to be completed by end of April): Rye House v Stoke, King’s Lynn v Mildenhall.Round 2 (starting in May): Kent v Coventry, Birmingham v Eastbourne, Rye House or Stoke v Cradley, King’s Lynn or Mildenhall v Buxton.NATIONAL LEAGUE RIDERS’ CHAMPIONSHIP: Rye House, September 2015.NATIONAL LEAGUE PAIRS: King’s Lynn, Date TBC.NATIONAL LEAGUE FOURS: Coventry, Date TBC.

Related Motorsport Articles

82,682 articles