Anthony Davidson and Mike Conway in Toyota WEC team

Toyota Racing have confirmed their driver line-up for the 2015 FIA World Endurance Championship. The team will again be entering two TS040 Hybrid cars with the aim of retaining their drivers’ and manufacturers’ world champion titles.

As the 2014 champions, Toyota Racing will take the No1 and No2 plates for its cars To mount the strongest challenge, the driver line-ups have been fine-tuned.

The No1 car will feature Anthony Davidson and Sébastien Buemi, who jointly claimed the 2014 drivers’ title, alongside Kazui Nakajima.

Alex Wurz, Stéphane Sarrazin and Mike Conway will share duties in the No2 car. An announcement regarding a test and reserve driver will be made in the coming weeks.

Today’s news reflects the team’s satisfaction with the performances, attitude and commitment of its drivers, who played a significant part in a successful world championship challenge in 2014.

It comes on the same day as Toyota confirmed plans for a World Rally Championship entry in 2017. Toyota Racing wish to place on record its commitment to endurance racing, which will not be adversely affected by the WRC project.

Yoshiaki Kinoshita, team president, said: “We have worked with all our drivers for a long time now and have developed very strong relationships. This stability and consistency has been a significant part of our recent success so it was a priority when planning for 2015 and beyond.

“Based on our experiences in 2014, we have decided to modify the line-ups for each car and we believe this will give us the optimum overall performance as the individual driving styles are now well matched. All our drivers are WEC race winners and we are confident they will add to their tally this season and in the future.”


ANTHONY DAVIDSON Born 18 April 1979, Hemel Hempstead, UKLe Mans debut 2003Le Mans starts 7Le Mans best result 2nd (2013)WEC starts 17WEC wins 5WEC best season 1st (2014)SÉBASTIEN BUEMI Born 31 October 1988, Aigle, SwitzerlandLe Mans debut 2012Le Mans starts 3Le Mans best result 2nd (2013)WEC starts 17WEC wins 5WEC best season 1st (2014)KAZUKI NAKAJIMA Born 11 January 1985, Okazaki, JapanLe Mans debut 2012Le Mans starts 3Le Mans best result 4th (2013)WEC starts 16WEC wins 2WEC best season 8th (2014)ALEX WURZ Born 15 February 1974, Waidhofen an der Thaya, AustriaLe Mans debut 1996Le Mans starts 8Le Mans best result 1st (1996 & 2009)WEC starts 20WEC wins 5WEC best season 3rd (2012)STÉPHANE SARRAZIN Born 2 November 1975, Alès, FranceLe Mans debut 2001Le Mans starts 13Le Mans best result 2nd (2007, 2009 & 2013)WEC starts 24WEC wins 2WEC best season 3rd (2013)MIKE CONWAY Born 19 August 1983, Sevenoaks, UKLe Mans debut 2013Le Mans starts 1Le Mans best result n/aWEC starts 10WEC wins 2WEC best season 7th (2013)

Related Motorsport Articles

82,682 articles