ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship

Round 1: Arnold Clark Thistle Hotel Snowman Rally, 21 February

Jock Armstrong and co-driver Paula Swinscoe piloted their Subaru Impreza to a hard-fought win on the opening round of the 2015 MSA Scottish Rally Championship, the Snowman Rally.

The Inverness-based season opener celebrated its 60th anniversary with challenging and unpredictable road conditions over five stages, which produced as many different winners.

Armstrong and Swinscoe were the final stage winners, sealing a 16-second victory over Bruce McCombie and Michael Coutts. Mike Faulkner and Peter Foy completed the podium, while five-time champions David Bogie and Kevin Rae retired at first service with clutch problems.

Results1 Jock Armstrong / Paula Swinscoe (Subaru Impreza) 43min59sec2 Bruce McCombie / Michael Coutts (Mitsubishi EVO) 44m15s3 Mike Faulkner / Peter Foy (Mitsubishi EVO 9) 44m28s

Provisional championship standings1 Jock Armstrong – 30 points2 Bruce McCombie – 283 Mike Faulkner – 274 Donnie MacDonald – 265 Barry Groundwater – 25

Related Motorsport Articles

82,683 articles