Thrilling all Porsche race brings Goodwood Member meeting to a close

Thrilling all Porsche race brings Goodwood Member meeting to a close

Racecar client Historika clinch thrilling all Porsche race at Goodwood Member meeting with the assistance of a stellar driving performance from Andrew Jordan.A sensational all-Porsche race for classic 911s and Freddie Hunt’s run in his father James’ Hesketh grand prix car were the highlights on a day when racing dominated proceedings at the Goodwood 73rd Members’ Meeting.

Under bright blue skies, the second and final day of the Members’ Meeting featured a nine-race programme featuring everything from 1920s Grand Prix Bugattis to early Can-Am cars; one of which – a Lola driven by Nick Padmore – set a new outright lap record.

The significance of the Members’ Meeting, now in the second year of its revived format, could be seen in the quality of both cars and star drivers present. The Porsche race – the John Aldington Trophy – featured the very 911 that Vic Elford borrowed from to win the world’s first rallycross event in 1967 – and Le Mans winner Richard Attwood. Both were soundly beaten by former British Touring Car champion Andrew Jordan.

Another BTCC champion, Matt Neal, triumphed in a thundering Chevrolet Camaro he shared with David Clark in the Gerry Marshall Trophy race for Group 1 touring cars and there were also victories for some of the greatest names in motor racing history, such as Maserati, Lola, Lister and BRM.

As on Saturday, there were superb high-speed demonstrations of Group C Le Mans racers, McLaren F1 GTRs and high-airbox Formula 1 cars; the highlight of which was an unexpected appearance by Freddie Hunt behind the wheel of a Hesketh 308 previously raced by his father – 1976 F1 World Champion – James.

Honours in the battle for the Goodwood House Trophy were taken – for a second year running – by Methuen, Captained by former BTCC ace Anthony Reid.

Goodwood 73rd Members’ Meeting on social media:YouTube:

GOODWOOD 73rd MEMBERS’ MEETING: ALL THE WINNERSGoodwood House Trophy – Methuen (Captain: Anthony Reid)Gerry Marshall Trophy Part 1– Nigel Garrett (Chevrolet Camaro Z28)Taylor Trophy– Andrew Wilkinson (Lynx-Ford Mk3)Graham Hill Trophy– Shaun Lynn/Emanuele Pirro (AC Cobra Le Mans Coupe)Les Leston Cup– Chris Ryan (MGB ‘Le Mans’)Sopwith Cup– Andy Wallace (Jaguar Mk1)Derek Bell Cup– James King (Chevron B17-Ford)John Aldington Trophy– Andrew Jordan (Porsche 901)Earl Howe Trophy– Sean Danaher (Maserati 8CM)Gerry Marshall Trophy Part 2 – Matt Neal/David Clark (Chevrolet Corvette Z28)Bruce McLaren Trophy – Nick Padmore (Lola-Chevrolet T70 Spyder)Hawthorn Trophy – Barrie Baxter (BRM Type 25)Salvadori Cup – Sam Hancock (Lister-Jaguar ‘Knobbly’)

Click here for the Historika web site - designed and built by Racecar

Related Market and Auction Articles

4,621 articles