Double R Racing celebrating 10th anniversary at Brands Hatch today

Top single-seater team Double R Racing is celebrating its 10th anniversary at Brands Hatch today, Saturday, 4th April, and is marking the occasion with the dawn of a fresh era for the squad – its competitive debut in the brand new MSA Formula.

As a prominent and very successful fixture in British motorsport since the squad’s inauguration, the Woking outfit – owned by the inimitable Anthony ‘Boyo’ Hieatt – has long been synonymous with Formula 3 racing and this weekend sets out on a new adventure with its MSA Formula team exactly 10 years since its first ever F3 race in Britain.

Established in late 2004 by Hieatt in partnership with original shareholders Kimi Räikkönen, Steve Robertson and the late David Robertson Snr, Double R Racing (originally badged Räikkönen Robertson Racing) made an immediate impact.

Winning its first race during its maiden campaign, the team went on to claim the prestigious British F3 title in 2006 with Mike Conway and the partnership also secured a famous victory in the end-of-year Macau F3 Grand Prix.

Running a ‘who’s who’ of international talent over the past decade, including the likes of Bruno Senna, Dan Clarke and current FIA Formula One World Championship racers Felipe Nasr and Marcus Ericsson, Double R is now aiming to bring the next generation through from MSA Formula.

“It’s a big weekend for everyone at the team, exactly 10 years since our first ever race meeting and hopefully the start of another very successful decade for Double R”, said team principal Hieatt, “It’s been a fantastic journey and I have to say a huge thank you to all of our past drivers, mechanics and engineers – they’ve been the foundation of the team’s continued success.

“None of it would ever have been possible without the support of our original shareholders Steve, Dave and Kimi, and now we’re at the start of another new chapter with the first ever race for MSA Formula here at Brands this weekend. It’s an exciting time for Double R Racing.”

For this afternoon’s opening round of the MSA Formula championship, Double R’s Matheus Tobias Leist will line-up in fourth position, team-mate Tarun Reddy will start the race in 10th position and Gustavo Myasava will begin the encounter in 12th place. 

Click here for the Official Double R Racing web site - designed and built by Racecar

Related Motorsport Articles

83,418 articles