McGrady Insurance MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship

Round 3: Circuit of Ireland National Rally, 6 April

Reigning champion Derek McGarrity made it three wins out of three so far this season, scoring maximum points on the Circuit of Ireland National Rally.

Irish Tarmac series contender Declan Boyle was leading by over a minute when his engine blew up on SS10. That paved the way for McGarrity to win, from Kenny McKinstry in second.

“It wasn’t an easy rally,” said McGarrity. “Conditions were tricky early on, and there was a lot of mud pulled out by the ERC guys cutting. Once Declan went out we had to manage that gap to Kenny, but it worked out well for us.”

Results1 Derek McGarrity / James McKee (Subaru Impreza S14 WRC) 2h02m18.2s2 Kenny McKinstry / Noel Orr (Subaru Impreza S14 WRC) +2m27.0s3 Wesley Patterson / Johnny Baird (Ford Escort MkII RS) +5m15.6s

Related Motorsport Articles

83,500 articles