Kimi takes over at the top of Canadian GP practice timesheets

Kimi takes over at the top of Canadian GP practice timesheets

Kimi Raikkonen went quickest in the second practice session at Montreal’s Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, edging FP1’s fastest man, Lewis Hamilton, by two tenths of a second. Championship leader Sebastian Vettel was third.

In the morning session Mercedes had edged Ferrari with Hamilton edging Vettel by two tenths to take top spot but in the afternoon qualifying simulations the order was reversed, with Raikkonen logging a lap of 1:12.935 to beat Hamilton by 0.215s on the ultrasoft Pirelli tyres. Vettel finished five hundredths of a second behind Hamilton, while Valtteri Bottas, third for Mercedes in the morning session, dropped to fourth in the afternoon. The top four, though, were covered by less than four tenths of a second.

Fifth place in the session went to Red Bull Racing’s Max Verstappen, with the Dutchman closing to within half a second of the front runners after ending the morning session a second adrift of FP1 pacesetter Hamilton. Any good feeling associated with that result was tempered, however, by Verstappen forced to pull his RB13 over at the edge of the track at Turn 7 when he suffered a gearbox problem 20 minutes prior to the end of the session. The incident caused a brief red flag period.

Verstappen’s team-mate Daniel Ricciardo had an even more frustrating afternoon, with the Australian restricted to the garage for most of the session as the team investigated an engine issue. He completed just eight laps.

The Circuit Gilles Villeneuve has historically been a good venue for Williams in recent years and Felipe Massa continued the trend by taking sixth place in FP2, though the Brazilian was 1.128s off Raikkonen’s pace and more than six tenths behind Verstappen.

On his return to Formula One following an outing at the Indianapolis 500, Fernando Alonso finished the session in seventh place for McLaren. Alonso managed just 19 laps in the afternoon, however, after a late start to his session.

In the morning session Sergio Perez finished fifth but in the second session the Mercedes-powered team slipped back slightly, with Esteban Ocon eighth and Perez in tenth place. The Force India drivers were split by Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat.

The Russian’s team-mate Carlos Sainz recovered from failing to set a time in the morning due to a technical issue to post 43 laps in the afternoon. He finished the session in 13th place.

Click here for the official Kimi Raikkonen web site designed and built by Racecar

2017 Canadian Grand Prix – Free Practice 2
1 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:12.935s - 41
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:13.150s 0.215s 41
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:13.200s 0.265s 41
4 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:13.310s 0.375s 42
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1:13.388s 0.453s 25
6 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1:14.063s 1.128s 38
7 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1:14.245s 1.310s 19
8 Esteban Ocon Force India/Mercedes 1:14.299s 1.364s 46
9 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Renault 1:14.461s 1.526s 38
10 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1:14.501s 1.566s 41
11 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1:14.566s 1.631s 33
12 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:14.604s 1.669s 38
13 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 1:14.621s 1.686s 43
14 Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari 1:14.676s 1.741s 35
15 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1:15.072s 2.137s 8
16 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:15.127s 2.192s 40
17 Lance Stroll Williams/Mercedes 1:15.240s 2.305s 40
18 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1:15.611s 2.676s 31
19 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren/Honda 1:15.624s 2.689s 20
20 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber/Ferrari 1:16.308s 3.373s 31

2017 Canadian Grand Prix – Free Practice 1

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:13.809s - 36
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:14.007s 0.198s 28
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:14.046s 0.237s 21
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:14.230s 0.421s 28
5 Sergio Perez Force India 1:14.578s 0.769s 34
6 Esteban Ocon Force India 1:14.785s 0.976s 35
7 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:14.861s 1.052s 19
8 Felipe Massa Williams 1:15.106s 1.297s 31
9 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:15.441s 1.632s 23
10 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:15.658s 1.849s 26
11 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1:15.943s 2.134s 29
12 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:16.233s 2.424s 25
13 Lance Stroll Williams 1:16.313s 2.504s 36
14 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:16.345s 2.536s 18
15 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:16.473s 2.664s 27
16 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:16.521s 2.712s 13
17 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:16.805s 2.996s 24
18 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:17.004s 3.195s 26
19 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber 1:17.606s 3.797s 28
20 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso - - 1