MSA British Rallycross Championship Update

MSA British Rallycross Championship Update

Round 1: Silverstone, 17 March

World motor sport legend Sebastien Loeb won the opening round of the MSA British Rallycross Championship at Silverstone, as five-time champion Julian Godfrey took the points lead.

FIA World Rallycross Championship contender Loeb led for the duration of the six-lap final on the brand-new Silverstone rallycross circuit, claiming victory ahead of team-mate Timmy Hansen in a pair of Peugeot 208 WRXs. Andreas Bakkerud completed the podium after dominating the qualifying stages of the event in freezing cold, snowy conditions.

With the top three racing as guests to prepare for the British round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship, the top MSA British Championship contender was Godfrey, who took maximum points with fourth place. Steve Hill drove his redeveloped Mitsubishi Evo X Supercar to fifth, while Welshman Roger Thomas took third in the points with sixth place.

1 Sebastien Loeb (Peugeot 208) 4m31.268
2 Timmy Hansen (Peugeot 208) +3.295
3 Andreas Bakkerud (Audi S1) +5.371
4 Julian Godfrey (Mitsubishi Mirage) +19.194s

Championship standings
1 Julian Godfrey – 30 points
2 Steve Hill – 27
3 Roger Thomas – 25

Image: The top three finishers, courtesy of