Speedway: Premiership Riders' Championship line-up

FANS are set to turn out in force as the Premiership's top stars do battle at Poole next month.
The Premiership Riders' Individual Championship heads to Wimborne Road on Wednesday May 9 with the top two riders from every top flight club in action.

The major event returns to Dorset for the first time since 2006 when former World Champion Jason Crump took the crown.

And the sport’s current top man is involved on this occasion as Somerset’s Jason Doyle will be bidding to win the event for a second time, having triumphed in 2015 at Leicester when he was representing the Lions.

The other former winner is Swindon’s Troy Batchelor, who was also in Robins colours in 2014 when he won the event at King’s Lynn.

Home club Poole are represented by Australian star Brady Kurtz, who has started the season in blistering form, and club captain Josh Grajczonek.

Grand Prix star Niels-Kristian Iversen is a previous rostrum finisher but has never won the meeting, and he is making a welcome return to British Speedway this season with King’s Lynn.

Meanwhile Wolverhampton star Sam Masters and Belle Vue’s British Champion Craig Cook are both former winners of the equivalent event at Championship level.

There are also three former British Champions in the line-up with Rye House duo Chris Harris and Scott Nicholls, as well as Leicester captain Danny King who is expected to replace the injured Martin Vaculik.

Both Harris and Nicholls have finished runners-up on three occasions in the past, with Nicholls’ first rostrum appearance coming way back in 2001, whilst Harris has been in the top three five times without winning the decisive race.
British Speedway Chairman Keith Chapman said: “The competition for the title is sure to be fierce.
“It's a great line-up and I'm sure Wimborne Road will be packed. We are delighted to have this event earlier in the season with everyone very keen to get racing.

“With two representatives from every club it's very hard to predict a winner and I'm sure the fans are in for a treat.”
LINE-UP (not in draw order): Craig Cook, Max Fricke (Belle Vue), Niels-Kristian Iversen, Robert Lambert (King’s Lynn), Hans Andersen, Danny King (Leicester), Brady Kurtz, Josh Grajczonek (Poole), Chris Harris, Scott Nicholls (Rye House), Jason Doyle, Charles Wright (Somerset), Nick Morris, Troy Batchelor (Swindon), Jacob Thorssell, Sam Masters (Wolverhampton).