Arvika Awaits as RallyX Nordic Title Battle Gathers Momentum

Arvika Awaits as RallyX Nordic Title Battle Gathers Momentum

Popular Swedish venue sets stage for round two of 2018 RallyX Nordic season
Thomas Bryntesson arrives in Arvika with Supercar series advantage 
Guillaume De Ridder leads ultra-competitive Supercar Lites class

Arvika sets the stage for round two of the 2018 RallyX Nordic season with all eyes on championship leader Thomas Bryntesson to see whether he can maintain the momentum from his perfect start to the season. 

The JC Raceteknik driver kicked off the defence of his RallyX Nordic title in fine style with a fighting display in round one at Holjes. Bryntesson bounced back from a crash at the wheel of his Ford Fiesta during an earlier qualifying race to claim a comprehensive win over a high-quality field in the final.

Leading Helmia Motorsport’s Lukas Walfridson and Mats Ohman across the line, Bryntesson returns to Sweden for round two in Arvika looking to protect and extend an early four-point lead over the opposition. 

Technical and challenging, Arvika is a mainstay of the RallyX Nordic calendar and is known for producing competitive door-to-door action, with this year’s event primed to continue the thrilling racing trend displayed in Holjes.

Indeed, while Bryntesson may have emerged as the familiar figure atop the podium, the close competition of round one nonetheless points towards multiple drivers being in contention for this year’s sought after RallyX Nordic title.

Fronting the challenge is Peter Hedstrom, who topped the Intermediate Classification coming into the semi-finals only for technical issues with his Volkswagen Polo in the final to scupper his hopes of overall victory. Nevertheless, ahead of his home race, Hedstrom remains well-positioned just six points shy of the lead.

Similarly, Oliver Solberg in the OSRX Citroen DS3 and Olsbergs MSE's Oliver Eriksson will seek greater fortune after eye-catching flashes of performance in Holjes didn't translate into the desired results on track. Even so, both have reason to be confident ahead of round two with Solberg having claimed victory in Arvika twelve months ago, while Eriksson arrives on the back of a big win in the RX2 International Series at Silverstone's Speedmachine. 

Other drivers in the hunt for glory include Philip Gehrman in his Eklund Motorsport Volkswagen Beetle, the young Swede having also reached the final in Holjes, while Ola Froshaug in the second JC Raceteknik Ford Fiesta and Hedstrom Motorsports' Christer Dalmans will look to replicate their run to the final in Arvika twelve months ago.
Peter Hedstrom, Hedstroms Motorsport: "Arvika is a very technical race track, with its sharp curves and big jumps. It is the type of track that requires a determined approach and rewards those that dare to brake later! It is definitely one of my favourite tracks and I cannot wait to get out there to challenge for victory."
RallyX Nordic Series Manager Ian Davies, commented: "We enjoyed a memorable start to the 2018 RallyX Nordic season with some classic rallycross action setting the stage for what promises to be a truly gripping season ahead. We can expect more of the same this weekend in Arvika, a much-loved staple of the rallycross scene with a layout that really challenges both man and machine. As a measure of RallyX Nordic's enduring popularity, it is a pleasure to be extending the series' live television reach from this event as part of a dynamic new agreement with TV2 Sumo and TV2 Sportskanalen in Norway, complementing our broadcasts on C More in Sweden. We are certain viewers will have plenty to enjoy from Arvika this weekend."

Supercar Entry List - RallyX Nordic // Round 2 // Arvika
1    Thomas Bryntesson    JC RACETEKNIK    Ford Fiesta
8    Peter Hedstrom    Hedstroms Motorsport    Volkswagen Polo
9    Crister Dalmans    Hedstroms Motorsport    Volkswagen Polo
11    Oliver Solberg    OSRX    Citroen DS3
16    Oliver Eriksson    Olsbergs MSE    Ford Fiesta
17    Mats Ohman    Ohmans Motorsport    Ford Fiesta
30    Ole Kristian Temte    Ole Kristian Temte Norwegian RX Team    Citroen C4
48    Lukas Walfridson    Helmia Motorsport    Renault Clio
61    Andreas Carlsson    ACRX Andreas Carlsson RallyCross    Renault Clio
76    Philip Gehrman    Eklund Motorsport    Volkswagen Beetle
77    Stene Johansen    Stene Johansen Motorsport    Renault Clio
88    Daniel Thoren    Hedstroms Motorsport    Volkswagen Polo
91    Ola Froshaug    JC RACETEKNIK    Ford Fiesta
Supercar Lites
The competitive Supercar Lites cateorgy continues in Arvika with Guillaume De Ridder looking to continue his winning feeling following success in Holjes. The Olsbergs MSE driver was the dominant winner last time out but faces a renewed challenge from an impressive 20-strong entry list, including fellow Holjes podium-winners Linus Ostlund and Glenn Haug, plus defending champion and last year's Arvika Supercar Lites winner William Nilsson. Round two will also feature two series newcomers in Arkadiy Tsaregradstev and Troy Dovel, competing with SRT and Set Promotion respectively.

Supercar Lites Entry List // Round 2 // Arvika
2    Ben Philip Gunderson    JC RACETEKNIK
6    William Nilsson    JC RACETEKNIK
9    Glenn Haug    GHRX
10    Martin Jonsson    Alfta Racing Team
11    Mats Oskarsson    Mats Oskarsson
12    Anders Michalak    Michalak Motorsport
17    Hampus Radstrom    Radstrom Motorsport
18    Linus Ostlund    Olsbergs MSE
21    Marcus Hoglund    JC RACETEKNIK
27    Petter Leirhol    Leirhol Motorsport
52    Simon Olofsson    STS RX
55    Vasiliy Gryazin    Sports Racing Technologies
57    Arkadiy Tsaregradtsev    Sports Racing Technologies
66    Santosh Berggren    A Berggrens Bilservice I Floby
69    Sondre Evjen    JC RACETEKNIK
87    Troy Dovel    Set Promotion
90    Jimmie Walfridson    JC RACETEKNIK
91    Jonathan Walfridsson    JC RACETEKNIK
96    Guillaume De Ridder    Olsbergs MSE
98    Stein Frederic Akre    Team Trysil