10 former winners to line up for Le Mans Classic

10 former winners to line up for Le Mans Classic

Among the thousand drivers from more than 30 nationalities who will be behind the wheel during the ninth staging of Le Mans Classic on 6-7-8 July on the big Le Mans circuit are ten former winners of the Le Mans 24 Hours.

 Jürgen Barth (D), Romain Dumas (F), Loïc Duval (F), Jan Lammers (NL), Gérard Larrousse (F), Klaus Ludwig (D), Jochen Mass (D), Stéphane Ortelli (F), Henri Pescarolo (F) and Marko Werner (D). In all they have racked up a total of 19 victories and 145 participations in the greatest endurance race in the world between 1967 and 2018. The outstanding figure among them is Henri Pescarolo who holds the record for the most starts with 33 crowned by four victories.

Four former F1 drivers including one world champion and two grand prix winners will take part in the event: Jenson Button (1988 XJR-9 in Group C Racing), René Arnoux (1965 Shelby Cobra 289 in Grid 4 and 1979 BMW M1 Procar in Grid 6), Jacques Laffite (1966 Lola T70 Mk III in Grid 5), and Paul Belmondo (1981 Porsche 935 in Grid 6). Several great names in motor sport will also compete: Jean Ragnotti, Emmanuel Collard (1999 Toyota GT-One in Global Endurance Legends), Alain Serpaggi (1978 Alpine A443 in Grid 6), Guy Fréquelin (1964 René Bonnet Djet in Grid 4) and Willi Kauhsen (Porsche 917 in Grid 5).

The majority of these drivers will take part in a public conference on Friday at 14:00 in the village. It will also be attended by Pierre Fillon (President of the Automobile Club de l’Ouest) and Patrick Peter (founder of Peter Auto). This will give fans the opportunity to put their questions to the drivers via the Le Mans Classic Facebook page: https://fr-fr.facebook.com/LeMansClassic/. The host of this conference broadcast live on the same page will ask the drivers the questions chosen. When it’s over an autograph session with the drivers present will be held in front of the eBay boutique.

Related Market and Auction Articles

4,431 articles