Marquez takes Assen MotoGP pole

Marquez takes Assen MotoGP pole

Reigning Champion Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) will be starting from pole at the Motul TT Assen – his first at the venue in the premier class, only second of the 2018 season and 75th overall – but the pack were incredibly close together after qualifying at the ‘Cathedral’ delivered an absolute classic. 

The top ten are within 0.376 seconds and the biggest gap between any two riders is just 0.063, setting the scene for a stunning race day once again. It’s Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) who starts second and as top Independent Team rider, with 10-time winner at the venue Valentino Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) completing the front row.

The mad dash for pole was true to its name as the final 30 seconds saw everything shuffle and shuffle again, with Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team) and Andrea Iannone (Team Suzuki Ecstar) initially seeming to have the advantage before that final lap for the majority of those in the session – and the emergence of Marquez at the top. But it’s just 0.041 back to Crutchlow and 0.059 back to Rossi, with Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) heading the second row despite only being 0.079 off pole.

Marc Marquez
pole position 1'32.791
“So far this weekend, things are going better than we were hoping for. The pole has not been one of my strongest points this year, and actually this will be the first time I’ll start form the top spot, because in Austin I earned the pole but was moved back to fourth. I was very happy with the rhythm I could keep in FP3 and FP4 and now I’m even more happy for the Q2 result. We’re trying and working in a good way. At this track stability is one of the main targets to achieve and step by step we improved that a bit. Our first goal is a podium finish but honestly we now have the possibility to fight for the victory. We must remain focused and work well in tomorrow’s warm-up to try and make another little step to improve the stability and to make the final choice for the tyres.”

TT Assen Qualifying Classification
Pos.    Rider    Num    Nation    Team    Constructor    Time/Gap
1    MARQUEZ Marc    93    SPA    Repsol Honda Team    Honda    1'32.791
2    CRUTCHLOW Cal    35    GBR    LCR Honda    Honda    0.041
3    ROSSI Valentino    46    ITA    Movistar Yamaha MotoGP    Yamaha    0.059
4    DOVIZIOSO Andrea    4    ITA    Ducati Team    Ducati    0.079
5    RINS Alex    42    SPA    Team Suzuki Ecstar    Suzuki    0.142
6    VINALES Maverick    25    SPA    Movistar Yamaha MotoGP    Yamaha    0.193
7    ESPARGARO Aleix    41    SPA    Aprilia Racing Team Gresini    Aprilia    0.238
8    ZARCO Johann    5    FRA    Monster Yamaha Tech 3    Yamaha    0.281
9    IANNONE Andrea    29    ITA    Team Suzuki Ecstar    Suzuki    0.329
10    LORENZO Jorge    99    SPA    Ducati Team    Ducati    0.376
11    PETRUCCI Danilo    9    ITA    Alma Pramac Racing    Ducati    0.501
12    BAUTISTA Alvaro    19    SPA    Angel Nieto Team    Ducati    1.224
13    NAKAGAMI Takaaki    30    JPN    LCR Honda    Honda    1'33.625 Q1
14    RABAT Tito    53    SPA    Reale Avintia Racing    Ducati    0.088
15    SYAHRIN Hafizh    55    MAL    Monster Yamaha Tech 3    Yamaha    0.088
16    MILLER Jack    43    AUS    Alma Pramac Racing    Ducati    0.094
17    REDDING Scott    45    GBR    Aprilia Racing Team Gresini    Aprilia    0.417
18    PEDROSA Dani    26    SPA    Repsol Honda Team    Honda    0.547
19    ABRAHAM Karel    17    CZE    Angel Nieto Team    Ducati    0.567
20    SMITH Bradley    38    GBR    Red Bull KTM Factory Racing    KTM    0.571
21    ESPARGARO Pol    44    SPA    Red Bull KTM Factory Racing    KTM    0.690
22    LUTHI Tom    12    SWI    EG 0,0 Marc VDS    Honda    1.614
23    SIMEON Xavier    10    BEL    Reale Avintia Racing    Ducati    2.068
24    MORBIDELLI Franco    21    ITA    EG 0,0 Marc VDS    Honda    0.593 (FP1)