MSA Championships Update

MSA Championships Update

McGrady Insurance MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship
Round 5: Trailer Parts & Spares Lakeland Stages, 1 September

Desi Henry and Liam Moynihan took maximum championship points, as Josh Moffett won the Trailer Parts & Spares Lakeland Stages despite drama on the final road section when his Fiesta ground to a halt.

Moffett and navigator Stephen Thornton had to push their car to the final control and were four minutes late, incurring 40 seconds worth of road penalties. Incredibly, the crew had a 41-second lead, winning the rally by just one second.

Henry and Moynihan finished second overall after a push on the final stage saw them displace Vivian Hamill and Andrew Grennan from the runner-up position.

1 Josh Moffett/Stephen Thornton (Fiesta R5) 32m17s
2 Desi Henry/Liam Moynihan (Fabia R5) 32m18s
3 Vivian Hamill/Andrew Grennan (Fiesta R5) 32m20s

Pirelli MSA Welsh Rally Championship
Round 7: Eventsigns Woodpecker Stages Rally, 1 September

Matt Edwards and co-driver Darron Garrod took their fourth championship victory on the Eventsigns Woodpecker Stages Rally.

Edwards dominated the morning stages, returning to service with a 30-second lead over Luke Francis and John H Roberts. Francis fought back on the fourth test after Edwards suffered a puncture, but the former champions couldn’t hold on and finished second overall.

Martyn England and co-driver Dawn England were locked in an intense battle with championship leader Dylan Davies during the morning tests. Davies and co-driver Llion Williams lost their clutch on the fourth stage, leaving the England’s to take the final podium position.

1 Matt Edwards/Darren Garrod Ford Fiesta 42m02s 
2 Luke Francis/John H Roberts (Ford Fiesta WRC) 42m32s 
3 Martyn England/Dawn England (Ford Fiesta R5+) 43m58s

Provisional championship standings
1 Dylan Davies – 131 points
2 Matt Edwards – 126
= Wug Utting – 126

Link-Up Ltd MSA British Car Trial Championship
Round 11: Ernest Owen Trial (Owen Motoring club), 2 September

Mark Hoppe’s sublime season concluded with his fifth overall win of the year out of the nine championship events.

Extremely dry and steep conditions saw him drop just twelve points over thirty long hills in his Dutton Melos. He shared the car with brother-in-law Shawn Franklin.

Colin Reid returned in his VW Golf GTI, dominating the front-wheel-drive class to finish nearly forty points ahead of fellow Golf driver Simon Harris.

Trevor Moffatt took third place, just seven points ahead of Nick Pollitt in the standard car class .

1 Mark Hoppe, Dutton Melos, 55.6%
2 Colin Reid, VW Golf GTI, 74.3
3 Trevor Moffatt, Vauxhall Corsa, 98.4

Link-up Ltd MSA British Autotest Championship
Round 10: Loughborough Autotest (Loughborough Motor Club), 2 September

Malcolm Livingston won the MSA British Autotest Championship by one point, with victory on the Loughborough Autotest.

Dave Mosey had a two-second lead at the halfway point, ahead of Richard Pinkney and Livingston. The afternoon tests saw the only mechanical failure of the day when Warren Gillespie broke a driveshaft.

The drama of the day was reserved for the very last test, where Dave Mosey collected a five second line penalty, dropping him to two seconds behind Pinkney.

The final placings saw Malcolm Livingston take overall honours by three seconds from Richard Pinkney, with Dave Mosey a further two seconds back in third. Warren Gillespie won the saloon car class by 18 seconds from Toby Cook.

1 Malcolm Livingston (Lindsay Special 1600) 695.0 seconds 
2 Richard Pinkney (Caterham Seven 1600) 698.6
3 Dave Mosey (Mini Special 1430) 700.2

Provisional championship standings
1 Malcolm Livingston – 227 points CHAMPION
2 Dave Mosey – 226
3 Chris Chapman – 214

Image: Matt Edwards and Darren Garrod in action on the Eventsigns Woodpecker Stages Rally, courtesy of Rallysport Media.

Related Motorsport Articles

82,914 articles