MSA Championships Update

MSA Championships Update

Image: Trevor Willis in action at Loton Park, courtesy of the British Hill Climb Championship

Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Championship
Round 8: Pembrey, 23 September

Five-time Champion Julian Godfrey (Mitsubishi Mirage) won the penultimate round of the championship at Pembrey by leading the final from lights to flag.

Godfrey took the lead of the final by making the best start from second on the grid, as pole-starter Mark Higgins (Peugeot 208) spun at the opening corner. Godfrey led throughout to take his third win of the season, while Ollie O’Donovan (Ford Fiesta) finished second and leads the standings by four points heading to the season finale at Silverstone in November.

Higgins ran fourth on the opening lap but passed Tony Bardy (Ford Focus) for the final podium place when Bardy took his joker, as Steve Hill (Mitsubishi Evo) finished fifth and Liam Manning (Subaru Impreza) was sixth.

Tristan Ovenden (Renault Clio) won the MSA Supernational Rallycross Championship final and Luke Constantine (Suzuki Swift) claimed victory in the MSA Junior Rallycross Championship final, his second win in the category.

1 Julian Godfrey (Mitsubishi Mirage) 4m32.309s
2 Ollie O’Donovan (Ford Fiesta) +3.320
3 Mark Higgins (Peugeot 208) +2.878

Provisional championship standings
1 Ollie O’Donovan – 169 points
1 Julian Godfrey – 165
2 Mark Higgins – 164

British GT Championship
Round 6: Donington Park, 22-23 September

History was made at Donington Park when Flick Haigh and Jonny Adam finished fourth on the road to claim the 2018 British GT title.

Haigh becomes the first woman to win the series’ premier class, while Adam now stands alone as the only driver to win three overall championships.

Jon Minshaw and Phil Keen took a second victory of the season in their Barwell Motorsport Lamborghini after finishing second on the road but benefiting from a post-race 30-second time penalty for Mark Farmer and Nicki Thiim. The TF Sport Aston Martin therefore finished runner-up with the podium completed by ERC Sport’s Mercedes-AMG shared by Lee Mowle and Yelmer Buurman.

1 Barwell Motorsport (Lamborghini Huracan GT3) 2h01m10.126s 
2 TF Sport (Aston Martin V12 Vantage GT3) 2h01m39.720s 
3 ERC Sport (Mercedes-AMG GT3) 2h02m00.008s

Provisional championship standings
1 Flick Haigh – 167.5 points 
= Jonny Adam – 167.5 
3 Jon Minshaw – 159.5

BRDC British F3 Championship
Rounds 19-21: Donington Park, 22-23 September

Nicolai Kjaergaard won two rounds at the Leicestershire circuit, as Sun Yue Yang claimed his maiden British F3 win.

Kjaergaard converted his front row start into his fourth win of the year in the damp opening contest. The Danish driver led from lights to flag, and kept his cool under late pressure from Jamie Caroline, who rose from sixth on the grid to claim second, with Krishnaraaj Mahadik taking the final podium spot in third.

Carlin's Yang claimed his maiden championship win in race two, converting his pole position and keeping a cool head in a chaotic race.Tom Gamble climbed from sixth to take second, with Pavan Ravishankar completing the podium. Gamble was issued a post-race penalty and excluded from the results, promoting Hampus Ericsson to third.

Kjaergaard claimed his second win of the weekend in the final race, finishing two seconds clear of Mahadik while Billy Monger claimed third place, having started from pole.

Race one
1 Nicolai Kjaergaard, Carlin, 12 laps
2 Jamie Caroline, Carlin, +0.752s
3 Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Double R Racing, +11.471s

Race two
1 Sun Yue Yang, Carlin, 8 laps
2 Pavan Ravishankar, Double R Racing, +3.743s
3 Hampus Ericsson, Fortec Motorsports, +4.135s

Race three
1 Nicolai Kjaergaard, Carlin, 11 laps
2 Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Double R Racing, +2.067s
3 Billy Monger, Carlin, +3.313s

Provisional championship standings
1 Linus Lundqvist – 496 points
2 Nicolai Kjaergaard – 446
3 Kush Maini – 346

McGrady Insurance MSA Northern Ireland Rally Championship
Round 6: McKelvey Asbestos Bushwhacker Rally, 22 September

Josh Moffett and Stephen Thornton won the McKelvey Asbestos Bushwhacker Rally, as Derek McGarrity and Paddy Robinson were provisionally crowned 2018 champions.

Despite retiring from the Omagh Motor Club organised event with an oil leak, McGarrity's two main rivals - Desi Henry and Alan Carmichael - still had to win the rally to stay in the title hunt.

Henry hit trouble while fighting for the lead and eventually finished third while Carmichael couldn't quite find the pace of the leading crews and finished just outside the top 10. McGarrity can't be caught in the points tables regardless of what happens at the final round of the series in October.

1 Josh Moffett/Stephen Thornton (Fiesta R5) 30m13s
2 Vivian Hamill/Andrew Grennan (Fiesta R5+) 30m32s
3 Desi Henry/Liam Moynihan (Fabia R5) 30m40s

Avon Tyres/Wynn Developments MSA British Hill Climb Championship
Round 33-34: Loton Park, 22-23 September

Trevor Willis claimed his third British title as the championship concluded at Loton Park.

Richard Spedding won the first run off ahead of Wallace Menzies and Scott Moran.

Menzies posted the fastest time of the day in round 34 to finish ahead of Willis and Spedding.

Round 33
1 Richard Spedding 51.45s
2 Wallace Menzies 52.08s
3 Scott Moran 52.18s

Round 34
1 Wallace Menzies 48.09s
2 Trevor Willis 48.12s
3 Richard Spedding 48.70s

Provisional championship standings
Trevor Willis – 236 points
Will Hall – 226
Wallace Menzies – 203

MSA British Sporting Trial Championship
Round 12: Pete Fear Sporting Trial (Ross & District Motorsports Club), 23 September

Julian Fack overcame changing weather conditions to win the Pete Fear Sporting Trial.

Fack led all day with Ian Veale finishing in second, just five points behind. Alastair Moffatt, fresh from his 40th birthday, competed for the first time this year to complete the podium with a win the intermediate blue class.

MSA Chairman David Richards CBE flew in to watch the 23 competitors take on the varied sections.

1 Julian Fack (Crossle) 31
2 Ian Veale (Sherpa) 36
3 Alastair Moffatt (RB7) 41