Mikkel Mac is GT Open Champion, last win of the season for Agostini-Breukers and Imperiale Lambo

Mikkel Mac is GT Open Champion, last win of the season for Agostini-Breukers and Imperiale Lambo

Mikkel Mac is the 2018 International GT Open Champion. A second, together with Alessandro Pier Guidi, was enough for the Dane of  Luzich Racing Ferrari, to secure the crown, beating Fran Rueda-Andrés Saravia (Teo Martín BMW), who finished fourth today. At the end of a fantastic season, Mac was clearly happy: “It’s a fantastic day, where we finished  reflects a job well done throughout the season, and I really want to share the success with the entire Luzich team, my team mates Pier Guidi and Cioci, because it’s the title of all of us”.

The last win of the season was a well-deserved one of the Imperiale Racing duo of youngsters, Riccardo Agostini and Rik Breukers, who had, at last, a trouble-free outing. The second win of the weekend for Lamborghini underlines the success of Imperiale Racing in the Teams’ standings.

In Pro-Am, Valentin Pierburg and Tom Onslow-Cole clinched the title last-minute with the points from P2 in the race, won by the Drivex Mercedes of Chrisitan Hahn-Lucas Auer, which scored no points in this one-off participation. The SPS Mercedes pair finishes tied in points with Miguel Ramos-Fabrizio Crestani (Daiko Lazarus Lambo) but take the title thanks to their 5 wins.

In Am, Stefano Costantini (Target Lambo) doubled yesterday’s win ahead of the already-crowned Andrzej Lewandowski-Giulio Borlenghi (VSR Lambo).  

THE RACE – At the start, poleman Rueda keeps the advantage over Venturini, Pier Guidi, Basso, Auer, Jäger, Agostini, Rizzoli and Giammaria, while Ward spins at first corner. In lap 2, also Basso is in the gravel and against the barriers, pushed by Salikhov (who later will receive a drive-through). The safety-car is out to allow retrieving the BMW. Shortly after restart, in lap 5, Venturini takes the lead with a daring move and flies slightly away, with the attention focusing on the duel between Rueda and Pier Guidi. In the Pro-Am fight, Pierburg is right ahead of Ramos.

Rueda is the very  first to stop for driver change as the window opens in lap 14. Pier Guidi stops one lap later. In lap 20, there is a contact between Fioravanti and Beirão, with the BMW spinning and the Lambo getting stopped along the track. After all changes, Mac leads with 4 seconds over Breukers, then a group comprising Christian Hahn, Saravia, Plachutta, liang, Cioci, Montermini and Mul. The Dutchman bumps into the RS Racing Ferrari in lap 22, getting a drive-through.

The battle for the lead  hots up between Mac and Breukers, with the Dutchman attacking a couple of times and eventually passing on lap 25. Shortly after, there is contact between Lisowski and Plachutta, with Montermini and Zaugg doing the same on lap 30. No changes in the final laps, except for a puncture for West, which doesn’t change the outcome in Pro-Am.  


Related Motorsport Articles

83,406 articles