Toyota clock 1-2 finish at 1000 Miles of Sebring

Toyota clock 1-2 finish at 1000 Miles of Sebring

A dramatic 1000 Miles of Sebring saw the no8 Toyota Gazoo Racing TS050 Hybrid with Kazuki Nakajima at the wheel taking the chequered flag to win Round 6 of the 2018/19 FIA World Endurance Championship and stand on the top step of the podium with Fernando Alonso and Sebastien Buemi.   

A late safety car was deployed to recover the no28 TDS Racing Oreca of former World Endurance Champion Loic Duval after the French driver’s car end up in the tyre barriers.  The race finished with the safety car pulling off and the cars filing across the line to take the chequered flag led by the no8 Toyota. 

In second place was the no7 Toyota of Mike Conway, Jose-Maria Lopez and Kamui Kobayashi, which finished one lap behind their teammates.  Reigning World Endurance Champion Brendon Hartley brought the no11 SMP Racing BR1-AER home in third place to claim the final step on the overall podium with Mikhail Aleshin and Vitaly Petrov.

The no91 Porsche 911 RSR won the LMGTE Pro as Gianmaria Bruni passed the no81 BMW MTEK M8 GTE of Nicky Catsburg during a late pitstop as both cars came in together to switch to wet tyres when heavy rain fell in the last 25 minutes of the race of the eight hour race. 

Ford made it three different manufacturers on the podium with the no67 Ford GT of Andy Priaulx took the flag a lap behind the leading pair.

Jackie Chan DC Racing took the top step of the LMP2 podium with the no37 Oreca-Gibson with a lights to flag victory for the new crew of Will Stevens, David Heinemeier-Hansson and Jordan King. Finishing in second pace was the no36 Signatech Alpine Matmut A470-Gibson, with the no31 Dragonspeed in third.

A tight LMGTE Am battle saw victory for the no77 Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche of Julien Andlauer, Matt Campbell and Christian Ried.  Ried also stood on the top step of the LMGTE Am podium on the WEC’s last visit to Sebring in 2012 and is the only driver on the grid who has competed in all 56 FIA WEC races.

The no8 Toyota crew of Fernando Alonso, Sebastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima now extend their lead in the Driver’s World Championship to 15 points over their teammates in the no7 Toyota.

Porsche leave Sebring with a 100 point advantage over Ferrari in the Manufacturer’s World Championship, while Kevin Estre and Michael Christensen maintain a 25 point advantage over Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz in the Driver’s World Championship.

Related Motorsport Articles

83,294 articles