Britain’s gold medalists Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre win Trofeo Sofia Iberostar medal race

Britain’s gold medalists Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre win Trofeo Sofia Iberostar medal race

Olympic champions won in just two of the ten classes competing at Mallorca’s biggest ever Trofeo Princesa Sofia Iberostar Olympic classes which finished in a blast of strong winds.

As the overall trophy for this 50th anniversary edition went to China’s up and coming Yue Tan in a light RS:X Women’s fleet in which there were no medallists competing - it goes to the sailor with the lowest points average over their race series - Britain’s gold medal winning helm Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre won today’s blustery medal race to secure the 470 Women title by 27 points. Brasil’s Olympic champions Martine Grael and Kahena Kunze prevailed in the FX.
Passing one boat on the final leg of the medal showdown was enough to secure a first major regatta title in the Laser class for the USA’s Christopher Barnard. The sailor from Newport Beach, California lead into the medal race which was won by GBR’s Eliot Hanson who finished runner up ahead of his two times World Champion compatriot Nick Thompson.

If this Sofia Iberostar was Barnard’s maiden Olympic classes regatta win, Denmark’s Olympic bronze medallist Anne-Marie Rindom was back on very familiar territory and retained the Laser Radial title she won here last year. But the charismatic Dane admitted she has been under the weather, suffering from a stomach upset which has all but drained her energy. Even so, she kept Holland’s Olympic champion Marit Bouwmeester four points astern. Erika Reineke won her first Olympic classes medal in Europe with bronze.

Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre won the 470 Women’s title in perfect style, enhancing their overall margin with a comfortable victory in the Medal Race. 

New Zealand’s Finn sailor Andy Maloney had finish within two places of GBR’s Olympic champion Giles Scott if he was to lift the Sofia Iberostar. As Scott sailed to win the medal race, Maloney took third, securing gold with his New Zealand teammate Josh Junior in third.

With no racing for the Nacra17 or the FX the titles went to Australia’s Jason Waterhouse and Lisa Darmanin and Brasil’s Martine Grael and Kahena Kunze. 470 winners Anton Dahlberg and Frederik Bergstrom of Sweden, and Dylan Fletcher and Stu Bithell in the 49ers had already secured their overall wins.

Related Modus Vivendi Articles

838 articles