A new era for Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0

Ten months after its first outing, New Formula Renault 2.0 makes its competition debut in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0. Twenty-three drivers and nine teams are all set for the first meeting of the World Series by Renault, which takes place at Spain's Motorland Aragón circuit.

The competition debut of the new single-seater mark the end of a long research and development phase. The development of the New Formula Renault 2.0 was launched in 2008. The car was first fired up on May 15, 2009, and it made its maiden outing on May 19, 2009 at the Magny-Cours circuit. Since then, Renault Sport Technologies has driven more than 6,500 kilometers to perfect the car, before producing 70 single-seaters for use in Eurocup and the various national championships.

The first official collective test sessions for New Formula Renault 2.0 took place on the Valencia track at the end of February. New Formula Renault 2.0’s advances in performance over its predecessor were immediately noticeable, with handling now closer to higher classes, and with benefits in terms of reduced driving costs. New Formula Renault has therefore remained true to its founding principals: training the champions of tomorrow, as was the case for Lewis Hamilton, Felipe Massa, Kimi Raïkonnen, Robert Kubica, Kamui Kobayashi or Jaime Alguersuari who have all taken their turn behind its wheel.

The twenty-three drivers enrolled in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 at Motorland Aragon start on an entirely equal footing, as each one of them will be driving their first race in New Formula Renault 2.0. Nevertheless, collective testing has allowed the beginnings of a hierarchy to be carved out. One Racing’s Daniel Mancinelli, Italian Formula Renault 2.0 title holder has begun to make a name for himself, by setting fastest laps at Valencia, Barcelona and Magny-Cours.

Drivers who already know the ropes in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 start the season with something of an advantage. And Interwetten.com’s Luciano Bacheta, Epsilon Euskadi’s Genis Olivé and Miguel Otegui, MP Motorsport’s Daniel de Jong and Krenek Motorsport's Adam Kout all have a head start, but newcomers such as 16-year old Alex Riberas and André Negrao, of Epsilon Euskadi and Cram Competition respectively, and Korainen Bros Motorsport’s 17-year old Miki Weckstrom, and Epsilon Euskadi’s 18-year old Giovanni Venturini, have all taken an active role in the fight for first place during collective testing. Without doubt, they will all be trying to overthrow the more experienced drivers.

The arrival of New Formula Renault 2.0 has seen new teams lining up for Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 along with old hands. Cram Competition and Koiranen Bros Motorsport are new comers to the discipline, along with Interwetten.com and Boetti Racing, both of whom make their grand debut into the world of Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 at Motorland Aragón.

The last team to sign up, with four Eurocup Mégane Trophy team and drivers titles, and three Formula Renault 3.5 Series titles to its name, Tech 1 Racing enters the new season with Frenchmen Arthur Pic and Hugo Valente and Finland’s Aaro Vainio, who will defend the team’s colours this season. Tech 1 Racing faces its next big challenge with three drivers who have already proven their worth in collective testing.