First entries received for Formula Renault UK Winter Series

Registrations for the 2010 Michelin Formula Renault UK Winter Series have already been received from leading teams Manor Competition and Fortec Motorsport as well as Eurocup front-runners Koiranen Bros Motorsport.

Joshua Hill (Farnham), the 19-year-old son of 1996 Formula 1 World Champion Damon, will make his Formula Renault UK debut with entrants’ champions Manor Competition with this year’s Protyre BARC Champion Alice Powell (Chipping Norton) also joining the New-Ollerton based squad. Karting star Jordan King (Harbury) also adds his name to the Manor Competition charge with returning driver Ollie Millroy (Claygate) completing the line-up.

Fortec Motorsport meanwhile have signed Australian-born Mitchell Gilbert (Twickenham), 16, who will partner Graduate Cup champion Alex Lynn (Dunmow) with a further two entries anticipated from the leading team which led Tom Blomqvist (Saffron Walden) to championship victory earlier this year.

Estonian Antti Rammo, 27, and 16-year-old Swede John Bryant-Meisner will lead the charge for Eurocup team Koiranen Bros Motorsport, who finished second in this year’s Eurocup 2.0 team standings, with two more entries from the Finnish-based squad expected in the coming days.

Race-winner Robert Foster-Jones (Southend-on-Sea) will lead the way for CRS Racing with further registrations expected from them and other leading UK teams before the opening rounds of the six-race mini-series take place at Norfolk’s Snetterton circuit on Saturday, 6th November. The remaining four rounds will be held at Pembrey circuit on Saturday, 13th and Sunday, 14th November.

The Winter Series will also see entries from the current Protyre BARC cars with SWB Motorsport signing 18-year-old rising karting star Mackenzie Taylor (Ashford) with two confirmed entries from Richard Ollerenshaw’s Hillspeed team with a third driver likely as well.

In 2009 Harry Tincknell (Exeter) clinched the Winter Series honours running with CRS Racing while Tom Blomqvist made history in the same series by becoming the youngest ever race winner at just 15.

For all the latest Michelin Formula Renault UK Championship news visit the official Renault Sport UK website built by Racecar