Muller cruises to WTCC Race 1 victory

Yvan Muller took another of his famous lights to flag victories.

The 2013 World Champion took the lead from pole position and bid farewell to the rest of the field.

Behind him Tiago Monteiro defended his second place keeping at bay Rob Huff, despite the Briton’s car was faster on the straight.Norbert Michelisz finished fourth ahead of the bamboo-engineering duo of Alex MacDowall – who won the Yokohama Trophy race – and James Nash who clinched the Yokohama Trophy title.On the last lap Marc Basseng won the fight with Pepe Oriola for seventh; Yukinori Taniguchi finished on top of the Asia Trophy beating Michael Soong.Key momentsGrid – Tarquini doesn’t line up as the team is working to change his engineStart – Muller takes the lead from Monteiro and HuffLap 1 – Thompson pits with a turbo pipe failureLap 2 – Chilton spins and hits the barriers before the Maternity bendLap 3 – Oriola spins at the Solitude Esses but avoids crashingLap 4 – Boardman overtakes Coronel for tenthLap 5 – Valente hits the tyre wall at Lisboa bendLap 6 – Oriola, Basseng and D’Aste have a close fight for seventh placeLap 6 – Basseng knocks on Oriola’s real bumper at Melco hairpinLap 7 – Calko spins and hits the barrier at Mandarin bendLap 8 – Basseng overtakes Oriola for seventhLap 9 – Muller wins, Monteiro keeps Huff at bay for second

Click here for the Official Alex Macdowall web site - designed and built by Racecar