MSA Championships Update

MSA Championships Update

MSA British Sporting Trials Championship Round 5: Presidents Trial, 26 March

Andy Wilks finally won the Presidents Sporting trial, having lost two events this month on a tie-break.

John Fack led after the first round of dry hills, but Wilks took the lead with a superb second round. Last year’s winner Julian Fack was his nearest challenger, five points further back from Simon Kingsley.

Stuart Beare won the live axle class in twelfth overall, while Phil Blagden finished best rookie.

1 Andy Wilks (Crossle) 31 points lost
2 Julian Fack (Crossle) 36
3 Simon Kingsley (Crossle) 39
4 Phil Haines (Facksimile) 39
5 Richard Sharp (Cartright) 45

Link Up Ltd MSA British Car Trial Championship Round 3: Ivinghoe Trial, 26 March

Neil Mackay returned to winning ways to take the Ivinghoe Car Trial in extremely dry conditions.

Mackay held the lead despite a costly mistake on the last round, with Shawn Franklin finishing second overall and winning the new car class.

Rupert North finished third, with Nigel Weeks winning a closely-fought rear-wheel-drive class. Barry Redmayne won the strongly supported clubman section in his Liege.

1 Neil Mackay (Citroen AX) 87.3%
2 Shawn Franklin (Citroen Saxo VTS) 95.8%
3 Rupert North (Rover Mini) 97.9%
4 Nigel Weeks (Hillman Imp) 98.2%
5 Barrie Parker (Westfield Sei) 98.2%

MSA ANICC McGrady Insurance Northern Ireland Rally Championship Round 2: McGrady Insurance Stages Rally, 11 March

Seven-time Northern Ireland Rally Champion Derek McGarrity, with co-driver Nigel Magee, took a twenty-four second victory on the McGrady Insurance Stages Rally.

In a new blue Fiesta WRC, he led from the first slippery stage, taking five of the six fastest stage times. Derek McGeehan took second place in his Mini WRC ahead of Stuart Biggerstaff in the S9 Impreza WRC.

Kenny McKinstry finished in fourth with his nephew Jack on his first rally in the co-driver’s seat.

1 Derek McGarrity/ Nigel Magee (Ford Fiesta WRC) 36m17s
2 Derek McGeehan/Laurie Smyth (Mini WRC) +0:24s
3 Stuart Biggerstaff/Stephen Jess (Subaru Impreza WRC) +0:27.8s
4 Kenny McKinstry/Jack McKinstry (Subaru Impreza WRC) +0:36.8s
5 Alan Carmichael/Ivor Lamont (Mini WRC) +0:54.3s