Desalle Fights-Back In Dutch MXGP Qualifying

MXGP FIM Motocross World Championship leader Clement Desalle picked-up his RM-Z450 after a first lap crash and used the power of the Rockstar Energy Suzuki World MXGP machine to ride back to 11th position today in qualification for the Grand Prix of Europe. Round five of 18 in the 2015 campaign took place in showery and temperate conditions at the Eurocircuit in Valkenswaard, Holland and in front of a decent crowd anticipating the first sandy race fixture of the season. Desalle worked on his suspension setting in the free and timed practice sessions and made a good start to be challenging for second place in the 20-minute and two-lap sprint race until he hit a bump and was dumped from the ‘#25’ Factory machine on the approach to the finish line. Restarting with a damaged set of goggles, the Belgian rode well to gain positions and obtain a reasonable slot in the start gate for the motos on Sunday, as more rainfall is predicted. Rockstar Energy Suzuki Europe’s Glenn Coldenhoff had a solid race on his RM-Z450 for his first appearance at his home Grand Prix in two years. The former MX2 GP winner was eighth in the rankings for his highest qualification classification so far in his maiden season in the premier class. Clement Desalle: “I was third [in the qualification heat] and feeling good but if you want to stay like that in the sand then you need to attack all the time. There is a rhythm section where you have to be very precise and I was just a little bit too-much to the left. I hit one of those mounds that they built on the outside of the track – I don't know why it was there. I don't know exactly where I restarted and came back to 11th. I’m disappointed to have crashed; I really don't want this. I know I cannot win all the time but I don't want to fall and that’s two Saturdays the same now. Anyway, my feeling is quite good on the track; already after the practice. Tomorrow I hope to have a good start, take some good points and stay on two wheels.” MXGP Qualification Heat classification: 1. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), 24:56.603; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:12.841; 3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:19.537; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:23.192; 5. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:24.465; 6. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:35.748; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:40.379; 8. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, Suzuki), +0:52.663; 9. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:56.409; 10. Filip Bengtsson (SWE, Honda), +0:59.931; 11. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +1:09.084.