Formula One World Championship 2023 to feature 24 events

Formula One World Championship 2023 to feature 24 events

The 2023 calendar for the FIA Formula One World Championship has been approved by e-vote by Members of the World Motor Sport Council.

The Formula 1 calendar features 24 events, with the addition of the Las Vegas Grand Prix as the penultimate round of the campaign. It will be the third event in the United States joining races in Miami and Austin.

The Bahrain Grand Prix will open the 2023 World Championship on March 5, while the Monaco Grand Prix, on May 28, is retained on the schedule. The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will take its usual place at the season finale on November 26. The Qatar Grand Prix, on October 8, returns after a one-year absence.

The 2023 F1 calendar will avoid a clash with the 24 Hours of Le Mans as part of the WMSC Members’ efforts to optimise all world championship race calendars.

FIA President Mohammed Ben Sulayem said: “The presence of 24 races on the 2023 FIA Formula One World Championship calendar is further evidence of the growth and appeal of the sport on a global scale. The addition of new venues and the retention of traditional events underlines the FIA’s sound stewardship of the sport. I am delighted that we will be able to take Formula 1’s new era of exciting racing, created by the FIA’s 2022 Regulations, to a broader fan base in 2023. In framing the 2023 F1 calendar, WMSC Members have also been mindful of the timing of the prestigious 24 Hours of Le Mans.”

1. Bahrain Grand Prix    Bahrain International Circuit    Mar 3-5    
2. Saudi Arabian Grand Prix    Jeddah Corniche Circuit    Mar 17-19    
3. Australian Grand Prix    Albert Park    Mar 31-Apr 2    
4. Chinese Grand Prix    Shanghai International Circuit    Apr 14-16
5. Azerbaijan Grand Prix    Baku City Circuit    Apr 28-30    
6. Miami Grand Prix    Miami International Autodrome    May 5-7    
7. Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix    Imola    May 19-21    
8. Monaco Grand Prix    Monaco    May 26-28    
9. Spanish Grand Prix    Circuit de Catalunya    Jun 2-4    
10 Canadian Grand Prix    Circuit Gilles Villeneuve    Jun 16-18    
11 Austrian Grand Prix    Red Bull Ring    Jun 30-Jul 2    
12 British Grand Prix    Silverstone    Jul 7-9    
13 Hungarian Grand Prix    Hungaroring    Jul 21-23    
14 Belgian Grand Prix    Spa-Francorchamps    Jul 28-30    
15 Dutch Grand Prix    Zandvoort    Aug 25-27    
16 Italian Grand Prix    Monza    Sep 1-3    
17 Singapore Grand Prix    Singapore    Sep 15-17    
18 Japanese Grand Prix    Suzuka    Sep 22-24    
19 Qatar Grand Prix    Losail International Circuit    Oct 6-8    
20 United States Grand Prix    Circuit of the Americas    Oct 20-22    
21 Mexican Grand Prix    Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez    Oct 27-29    
22 Brazilian Grand Prix    Interlagos    Nov 3-5    Forum
23 Las Vegas Grand Prix    Las Vegas Street Circuit    Nov 16-18    
24 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix    Yas Marina    Nov 24-26

Related Motorsport Articles

83,636 articles