MSA British Superkart Championship

Round 2 - Oulton Park

Jason Dredge just maintained his lead in the MSA British Superkart Championship after winning the opening race at Oulton Park. In Race 1 Dredge made a tremendous start and was soon clear of the chasing pack which included Gavin Bennett, Don Kennedy and Kevin Waring. Extending his advantage each lap he would eventually take an unchallenged victory and although the race was red flagged on lap 6, the result stood. Behind, Kennedy took second ahead of Bennett.

In Race 2 Gavin stormed away to a very comfortable win. Behind him, Don Kennedy was this time joined by James O'Reilly, Dean Hawley and Sam Moss, as they traded places throughout the 10 lap race.  O'Reilly looked set for a podium finish but on the final lap he was forced out with a puncture, leaving Kennedy and Hawley to take the final podium places.

Despite light rain starting to fall, Race 3 was another cracker, Dredge making his now customary brilliant start, but that wasn't to last as he pulled in after just one lap. He did rejoin and managed to limit the damage eventually finishing in 10th. So O'Reilly now led from Sam Moss, Kevin Waring and Dean Hawley. O'Reilly had Moss in close attendance, but when Moss spun at Old Hall on lap 4 and couldn't restart he was left the clear leader,  Waring and Hawley leading the chase but O'Reilly held on to take his first win in the championship. Waring held off Hawley to take third whilst Charles Johnson had a great result taking fourth.

Result Race 1

1 Jason Dredge   Anderson Honda         8:37.514  / 92.20MPH

2 Don Kennedy   Anderson Honda            1.766s behind

3 Gavin Bennett  Anderson Honda            3.138

4 Kevin Waring   Anderson Honda           7.665

5 Charles Johnson  Anderson Honda       16.281

6 Stuart Parker     Anderson Honda         17.522

Race 2

1 Gavin Bennett  Anderson Honda          14:22.350  

2 Don Kennedy   Anderson Honda                 6.815s Behind

3 Dean Hawley    Anderson Honda                 9.743

4 Sam Moss        Anderson Honda                11.362

5 Stu Parker        Anderson Honda                32.773

6 Michael Crawford  Anderson Honda      1:03.493

Race 3

1 James O'Reilly  Anderson Honda         8 Laps   

2 Kevin Waring    Anderson Honda          12.839 behind

3 Dean Hawley        Anderson Honda         13.59

4 Charles Johnson  Anderson Honda           19.75

5 Craig Fleming       Anderson Honda          26.42                            

6 John Dickinson    Anderson Honda           44.58

Related Motorsport Articles

84,619 articles