MSA British Superkart Championship

Rounds 5 & 6 - Bishopscourt

The fast flowing nature of the Bishopscourt circuit in Northern Ireland and good weather produced some excellent racing for this the third event in the MSA British Superkart Championships.

Race 1

Series leader Jason Dredge and James Oreilly were involved in a closely fought contest at the front with Gavin Bennett some distance behind in third, then towards the end of the last lap Jason and James had a coming together which resulted in Gavin Bennett inheriting the lead and victory from James Oreilly who had by now gathered himself up to retrieve second place. Jason unfortunately did not complete the race.  Scotsman Matt Bett was third with Zytek race engineer Dean Hawley fourth. Jon Neville in his first season in 250 having moved up from ICC was a splendid fifth and Kevin Waring renewed his early season form with a strong sixth place finish.

1 Gavin Bennett           Anderson/Honda        11.35.28/94.75mph

2 James Oreilly             PVP/Honda

3 Matt Bett                    Anderson/Honda

4 Dean Hawley             Anderson/Honda

5 Jon Neville                Anderson/Honda

6 Kevin Waring             Anderson/Honda

Fastest Lap   -   Jason Dredge   -   1.08.43/96.27mph

Race 2

European Superkart Champion Gavin Bennett held a big lead on opening lap but toured in next lap round with a mechanical problem which handed victory to James Oreilly. The drive of the race however came from Jason Dredge who charged through the field from the back of the grid to take an excellent second place.

Matt Bett keep his good form going by taking another third. The next three places were very hotly contested all race long between Sam Moss, Jon Neville and Craig Fleming. With never more than a second or two between them the result was in doubt right up to the flag. By the end Moss took fourth, Neville fifth and Fleming sixth.

1 James Oreilly             PVP/Honda                11.39.762/94.15mph

2 Jason Dredge             Anderson/Honda

3 Matt Bett                     Anderson/Honda

4 San Moss                   Anderson/Honda

5 Jon Neville                 Anderson/Honda

6 Craig Fleming            Anderson/Honda

Fastest Lap   -   Jason Dredge   -   1.08.6/96.03mph

Next Rounds are at Cadwell Park on July 19/20th

Related Motorsport Articles

84,615 articles