MSA British Sprint Championship

SBD Motorsport MSA British Sprint Championship - Organisers: Borough 19 Motor Club

Date: 14th June 2008 -  Lydden

Matt Oliver was in dominant form as he hammered to victory at Lydden in the latest round of the MSA British Sprint Championship. The Gould driver needed to maximise his score in the absence of the championship leader so when he broke the course record on each of his Top Twelve runs he also netted two bonus points. Welshman Mark Smith took a career best second in his two litre Reynard and also got two bonus points as he was inside the 2-litre record on each run.

Another to net the double bonus points was Nick Algar in third. Nick destroyed the existing 1600 record on each run and is en route to having a full set this year. After qualifying second fastest Terry Holmes had a run-off to forget. On his first run third gear broke and he limped round struggling to get any gears. On his second run he was doing well without the use of the broken gear until a massive spin at Paddock catapulted him into the infield and retirement.

Round 8

1 Matt Oliver (4.0 Gould-Judd GR37) 63.48secs;

2 Mark Smith (2.0 Reynard-Vauxhall 903) 65.69secs;

3 Nick Algar (1.6 DJ Firehawk-Suzuki) 66.46secs,

4 Bill Oliver (4.0 Gould-Judd GR37) 66.99secs;

5 Steve Broughton (1.4 OMS/Jade-Suzuki CF08) 67.93secs;

6 Graham Porrett (3.5 Lola-Judd ERH) 68.23secs;

Related Motorsport Articles

84,681 articles