V8 Utes Walk Cham. Tightrope

at QLD Raceway 

With some driver changes and a close top ten, Round Five at QLD Raceway will mark the half-way point of the Yokohama V8 Utes Racing Series, this weekend.

Leading the series at the moment is Ford driver, Layton Crambrook followed by Holden Ve driver, Kim Jane, reigning champion, Grant Johnson, Jesus for Life Racing, Andrew Fisher and local driver, Ryal “The Kid” Harris from Harris Motorsports who will be looking to make his mark on his local track on the weekend.

“I am feeling quietly confident as it is my home track and I know it like the back of my hand,” Harris said.

Ryal will have some tough competition against Holden SS Commodore driver Gary Baxter who will be the driver to watch out for after winning the QLD round for the last two years.

”I have won on this track the last two years and am feeling quite confident but this is the Utes so anything can happen. It really comes down to the luck on the day,” Baxter said.

There will be a few driver changes and new additions for this weekend with Dunn Motorsports, Colin Dunn taking over the driver’s seat of the BF Falcon XR8 Ford from his son Ben Dunn.

Ford BF Falcon XR8 driver, Rhys Jnr Hansford will be back in his Charlie/0’Brien Motorsport  #45 after Paul Williams took the reigns for him at the last two races.

Former Holden Young Lions Supercar driver, Kurt Wimmer will take to the track in a Ute for the first time in place of Scott Jennings for Hi Tech Racing. 

And after a long awaited four months, Madashell Motorsports driver Justin "The Tornado" Van Twest will return to the track. Van Twest donated his car to Craig Dontas following an accident at Clipsal 500 and will be driving a brand new Ford BF Falcon XR8 to replace the old one.

All drivers will be vying to take pole position at this event to secure themselves a good position for the remainder of the series.

Top 10 Series standings:

1) Layton Crambrook   Ford           3602) Kim Jane           Holden         3133) Grant Johnson      Holden         2924) Andrew Fisher      Ford           2705) Ryal Harris        Holden         2676) George Miedecke    Ford           2597) Colin Corkery      Ford           2448) Gary Baxter        Holden         2259) Yanis Derims       Holden         22510) Gary Macdonald    Holden         224

Current Rookie of The Year -  Holden driver, Glenn Mcnally from Hi-Tech Motorsports on 154 points.

QLD Raceway Schedule:

Fri, 18th July 10:20am     Practice One2:05 pm       Practice Two

Sat, 19th July8:55am       Qualifying12:45pm    Race One

Sun, 20th July8:05 am      Race Two12:10 pm   Race Three