“Captain Rob” and "Freddy" take it ....

to the V8 young guns 

Billinudgel bus driver Captain Rob Jarvis and Grove Fruit Juice CEO Greg “Freddy” Willis put in their best qualifying times for Round 5 of the Yokohama V8 Ute Series at Queensland Raceway today.

Jarvis qualified the BVC Ford 10th fastest, while Willis also had a career best of 13th in a clear message that grey power is an equal match for horsepower around the tight paperclip circuit.

Melbourne’s Kim Jane qualified his Holden on pole, 3/10ths faster than Gary Baxter with Championship leader Layton Crambrooks Ford 3rd fastest. Andrew Fisher, George Miedecke and Jack Elsegood also had solid performances while reigning Champ Grant Johnson was back in 7th, with Corkery, Harris and Jarvis rounding out the top ten.

Ford driver, Layton Crambrook sped to victory today in Race One of Round Five of the V8 Utes Racing Series at QLD Raceway.

Gary Baxter jumped to an early lead and led most of the way but was a bit disappointed to not pull of the win. 

“It was a shame to lead the whole way and then lose it so close to the end. I lost a bit of momentum after one of the two safety car periods, at least we are back on the pace where we want to be, which we are really happy about,” Baxter said.

Jane then grabbed the lead, but “Leadfoot” Layton flying the blue flag for Ford applied the blow torch from mid race and claimed the race win, with Baxter 2nd, Jane 3rd and Elsegood 4th.

Shannan Sidebottom and Brad Patton came together mid race, Patton managed to recover and finish the race in 27th position however Sidebottom was forced to retire.

Jesus for Life driver Andrew Fisher, quick in qualifying and on the race pace early had engine failure after 3 laps with Greg Willis also a non finisher after a flat tyre.

Perth driver Glen McNally will start from pole position tomorrow in a reverse of the top 16 positions from Race One.

Race Two commences at 8:05am, followed by the third and final race for the round at12:10pm.

Keep your eyes on Channel Seven September, 6th 2008 from 1:30pm – 2:30pm.

Results:Qualifying:1) Kim Jane  Holden 1:23.892) Gary Baxter  Holden 1:24.223) Layton Crambrook   Ford  1:24.254) Andrew Fisher Ford  1:24.425) George Miedecke Ford  1:24.436) Jack Elsegood Ford  1:24.577) Grant Johnson Holden 1:24.71 8) Colin Corkery  Ford  1:24.789) Ryal Harris  Holden 1:24.8210) Robert Jarvis  Ford  1:25.24

Race one:

1) Layton Crambrook  Ford  1:25.592) Gary Baxter  Holden 1:25.693) Kim Jane  Holden 1:25.654) Jack Elsegood Ford  1:25.945) George Miedecke Ford  1:26.386) Ryal Harris  Holden 1:26.357) Kurt Wimmer  Holden 1:26.498) Stephen Robinson Ford  1:26.809) Colin Corckery Ford  1:27.0510) Grant Johnson Holden 1:26.62