MSA British Sprint Championship

SBD Motorsport MSA British Sprint Championship - Organisers: BARC (Wales)

Date: 19th July - Llandow

Considering it was 23 year old Stewart Robb Junior's first visit to Llandow circuit the Scot was soon in record breaking form and on three successive runs he reset the Outright Course Record. His win in the Top 12 Run-off sets up the championship for the final two rounds as it leaves Robb two points clear of reigning champion Matt Oliver (pictured right) who was also inside the old course record. Stewart Robb Senior took third and was closing down the gap to Oliver when he spun on his second Top 12 effort.

Colin Calder took a fine fourth despite his second run ending when he hit one of Llandow's notorious cones and removed the front wing. Nick Algar and Mark Smith continue to lead their respective classes with Algar just having the upper hand despite a "floating steering column". Smith also had problems when his front wing was shattered in another cone encounter; after fitting the spare there was less frontal down-force so his pace dropped away. Championship sponsor Steve Broughton continues to develop his new 1600cc OMS, which features Jade rear suspension, and was pleased with seventh in the run-off after brake problems earlier in the day.

Round 6

1 Stewart Robb Jnr (4.0 Pilbeam-Judd MP88) 63.90secs;

2 Matt Oliver (4.0 Gould-Judd GR37) 64.28secs;

3 Stewart Robb Snr (4.0 Pilbeam-Judd MP88) 65.21secs;

4 Colin Calder (3.5 Gould-Judd GR37) 66.09secs;

5 Nick Algar (1.6 DJ Firehawk-Suzuki) 67.93secs;

6 Mark Smith (2.0 Reynard-Vauxhall 903) 68.27secs;

7 Steve Broughton (1.4 OMS/Jade-Suzuki CF08) 68.78secs;

8 Phil Lynch (3.2 Ralt-Judd RT37) 69.53secs;

9 David Sims (2.0 Ralt-Duratec RT33/34) 69.56secs;

10 Roy Sims (2.0 Ralt-Duratec RT33/34) 69.57secs;

11 Bill Oliver (4.0 Gould-Judd GR37) 71.94secs;

Terry Holmes (3.5 Lola-Judd ERH) Did Not Start - Crown Wheel & Pinion.

Related Motorsport Articles

84,615 articles