MSA British Hillclimb Championship

Nicholson McLaren Aviation MSA British Hillclimb Championship

Rounds 21 & 22 - Wiscombe Park, near Honiton

After this meeting Scott Moran holds a 42 point championship lead over main rival Martin Groves who won round 21 but with Moran just behind. Scott triumphed in round 22 with a personal best time and Groves came third behind Trevor Willis. Whilst the title could still be lost, Moran must now be favourite to take his first MSA Championship despite Groves' known ability to fight back.

Trevor Willis maintained his season-long consistency behind Moran and Groves with third and second places and holds a safe championship third place by filling in whenever the other two slip up.

Jos Goodyear improved after a poor practice taking 12 points. Martin Groves co-driver Paul Ranson had a poor event. Best of the rest were Chris Merrick and Basil Pitt who scored eleven points each.

The top two-litre performers Paul Haimes and Tom New each took 4 points and Haimes seems certain to take the number ten from New for next season in a car prepared by Tom's firm!

Round 21

1 Martin Groves (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 35.09s; 2 Scott Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61) 35.14s; 3 Trevor Willis (2.8 OMS-Powertec) 35.46s; 4 Jos Goodyear (4.0 Pilbeam-Judd MP97) 35.90s; 5 Roger Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61) 35.93s; 6 Chris Merrick (4.0 Gould-Judd EV GR55) 36.00s; 7 Basil Pitt (2.8 Gould-NME GR55) 36.03s; 8 Paul Ranson (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 36.27s; 9 Tom New (2.0 Pilbeam-Rover KV6 MP88) 36.56s; 10 Rob Turnbull (Gould-Cosworth GR55) 37.47s; 11 Eynon Price (1.6 OMS 2000M) 38.08s; 12 John Chalmers (2.0 Ralt F302) 38.03s.

Round 22

1 Scott Moran 35.02s Best Time of the Day; 2 Willis 35.22s 3 Groves 35.41s; 4 Pitt 36.07s; 5 Merrick 36.19s; 6 Goodyear 36.48s; 7 Paul Haimes (2.0 Dallara-Opel F301) 36.54s; 8 Roger Moran 36.56s; 9 New 36.72s; 10 Chalmers 37.32s; 11 Ranson 37.70s; 12 Price 35.10s.