MSA British Hillclimb Championship

Rounds 25 & 26 Shelsley Walsh, August 16th and 17th - Midland Automobile Club

A late shower may have cost Martin Groves dear. In the first run-off he had maintained his hold on the hill record at Shelsley Walsh by taking a 0.13 out of his current record to score a maximum eleven points (pictured right). He qualified fastest for the final run-off so running last. But he encountered the beginning of the forecast late rain between the esses when all before him had seen a dry track. Now trailing runaway leader Scott Moran by 68 points the incident may have finally cost Groves the 2008 championship and the dream of four in a row. Trevor Willis again made the best use of his great skills and low powered but agile OMS to consolidate his third place overall in this years title chase but there were no changes in position anywhere in the top twelve.

Round 251 Martin Groves (3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 22.58s Outright Hill Record & BestTime of Day; 2 Scott Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61) 23.14s; 3 Paul Ranson(3.5 Gould-NME GR55) 23.53s; 4 Trevor Willis (2.8 OMS-Powertec) 23.85s;5 Roger Moran (3.5 Gould-NME GR61X) 23.95s; 6 Jos Goodyear (4.0Pilbeam-Judd MP97) 24.20s; 7 Chris Merrick (4.0 Gould-Judd EV GR55)24.36s; 8 Deryk Young (4.0 Gould-Judd GR51B) 24.47s; 9 Graeme WightJunior (3.0 GWR Predator-Arrows-Hart) 24.62s; 10 Basil Pitt (2.8Gould-NME GR55) 24.73s; 11 Rob Turnbull (3.5 Gould-Cosworth GR55)26.40s; 12 Tom New (2.0 Pilbeam-Rover KV6 MP88) 27.26s.

Round 261 Scott Moran 23.55s; 2 Ranson 23.57s; 3 Willis 24.17s; 4 Young 24.23s;5 Pitt 24.32s; 6 Roger Moran 24.34s; 7 Goodyear 24.35s; 8 Groves 24.36s;9 Merrick 24.59s; 10 Wallace Menzies (1.3s DJ-Suzuki Firehawk) 25.88s;11 John Chalmers (2.0 Ralt-Cosworth F302) 25.93s; 12 Paul Haimes (2.0Dallara-Opel F301) 26.33s.

Related Motorsport Articles

84,620 articles